PDA

View Full Version : Anyone wireless at home?



SunDeck
04-02-2005, 09:27 PM
I set this up for my wife, so she could work in bed...seriously...and you can just stop thinking up jokes about that right now, thank you.

Anyway, I bought a cheap netgear wireless router. Setting it up was pretty easy- I was surprised.

There is a lot of wasted time in my future, I think.

:thumbup:

NJReds
04-02-2005, 10:11 PM
I set one up because I live in a condo and it would've been a big hassle to run a line back to the room where I set up my computer. It's a great thing.

I had a Netgear router too, but it got fried in the big blackout (even though it was in a surge protector. Got frustrated w/their outsourced "customer service" ... trashed it and bought a Dell.

Reds4Life
04-02-2005, 10:18 PM
I do, I've got a Linksys 802.11g set up. Once you go wireless, you'll never go back. ;)

RFS62
04-02-2005, 10:21 PM
Been wireless for a couple of years now. Can't beat it.

RBA
04-02-2005, 10:23 PM
Had Microsoft 11b, recently upgraded to Belkin 54g.

By the way I got the Belkin Free after rebate at Staples.com. Look to fatwallet.com for deals like this.

Unassisted
04-02-2005, 10:30 PM
I put in a wireless hub at work in '97 and loved it so much there that I got one at home in '99. I now have 2 hubs in distant parts of the house to provide 100% coverage. :)

RBA
04-02-2005, 10:33 PM
http://www.circuitcity.com/IMAGE/product/list/blk/PC.BLK.F5D72304.LT.JPG (http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Belkin-Wireless-Router-F5D72304-/sem/rpsm/oid/73704/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do)

Belkin Wireless Router (F5D72304) (http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Belkin-Wireless-Router-F5D72304-/sem/rpsm/oid/73704/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do)
•802.11g technology
•Up to 54Mbps in turbo mode
•Built-in 4-port switch
•Firewall security
•Easy-install wizard
•Range up to 1800'


http://www.circuitcity.com/IMAGE/app/r/availability.gifCheck your local store for availability

$9.99

after $60.00 rebates



Availability
Check your local store for availabilitystore locator (http://www.circuitcity.com/ccd/locator.do)

StillFunkyB
04-02-2005, 11:03 PM
Airport.....Sister has a iBook, and I have a desktop PC wired.

jmcclain19
04-03-2005, 03:30 AM
I have a Linksys system at home here.

Nothing beats a 80 degree Saturday, relaxing w/ a beer and sitting on the porch doing a little web browsing.

GAC
04-03-2005, 05:26 AM
I have a Linksys system at home here.

Nothing beats a 80 degree Saturday, relaxing w/ a beer and sitting on the porch doing a little web browsing.

I agree. But it's sometimes a real hassle lugging the desktop out there.

KronoRed
04-03-2005, 06:07 AM
I agree. But it's sometimes a real hassle lugging the desktop out there.
Buy yerself a laptop..then...take it with you everywhere and the kids can't put spyware on it :D

GAC
04-03-2005, 07:32 AM
Buy yerself a laptop..then...take it with you everywhere and the kids can't put spyware on it :D

You gonna give me the money? I just spent $480 getting brakes all around on the car. Priorities. ;)

KronoRed
04-03-2005, 07:38 AM
Brakes..pfft


;)

GAC
04-03-2005, 08:31 AM
At my house I'm usually wired! Oh...we're talking about computers?

I have 3 computers in the house. If I brought a laptop into this house, my wife would show me where to keep it (and it wouldn't be pretty). :mooner:

But I am wied with one computer (didn't see the sense in removing it), and finally went wireless with other, thanks to some great help on here from some resident experts.

I went Linksys.

But I still haven't figured out how to network my printer on this computer with the wireless one in my son's room. I've been in the Network Setup Wizard, but I'm scared to death I'll screw something else up trying to configure it.

I'm alot better with chainsaws. ;)

GAC
04-03-2005, 08:33 AM
Brakes..pfft


;)

I guess I could always chock the wheels of my car with the laptop when I'm not using it. ;)

KronoRed
04-03-2005, 08:35 AM
I guess I could always chock the wheels of my car with the laptop when I'm not using it. ;)
That's what I would do :D

RBA
04-03-2005, 09:55 AM
But I still haven't figured out how to network my printer on this computer with the wireless one in my son's room. I've been in the Network Setup Wizard, but I'm scared to death I'll screw something else up trying to configure it.

If you haven't already, you need to enable "share" or "sharing" the printer. Go into the control panel>printers and other hardward>view installed printers and fax printers >right click default printer and click on "Sharing..." You should be able to choose between sharing and not to share there.

RBA
04-03-2005, 12:35 PM
http://www.circuitcity.com/IMAGE/product/list/blk/PC.BLK.F5D72304.LT.JPG (http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Belkin-Wireless-Router-F5D72304-/sem/rpsm/oid/73704/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do)

Belkin Wireless Router (F5D72304) (http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Belkin-Wireless-Router-F5D72304-/sem/rpsm/oid/73704/rpem/ccd/productDetail.do)
•802.11g technology
•Up to 54Mbps in turbo mode
•Built-in 4-port switch
•Firewall security
•Easy-install wizard
•Range up to 1800'


http://www.circuitcity.com/IMAGE/app/r/availability.gifCheck your local store for availability

$9.99

after $60.00 rebates



Availability
Check your local store for availabilitystore locator (http://www.circuitcity.com/ccd/locator.do)

The sale is over. No rebates available now.