PDA

View Full Version : Tidbits from Marc's blog



Chip R
01-06-2006, 05:01 PM
http://frontier.cincinnati.com/blogs/spring/



The Reds have released a full 2006 schedule with times, but it doesn't look as if that page on Reds.com (http://cincinnati.reds.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/schedule/index.jsp?c_id=cin&m=4&y=2006) has been updated yet, as of this posting. The one notable change is that Saturday night home games will start at 6:10 p.m., an hour earlier than in years past.

The Opening Day game against the Cubs on April 3 is scheduled to begin at 2:10 p.m. ET, and the second game of the year, April 5 against Chicago, is an early business day special, with first pitch at 12:35 p.m. Both Saturday home games in April, on the eighth against Sean Casey's Pittsburgh Pirates and the 29th against the Astros, will be day games starting at 1:15.

Redsfest will be back next offseason after a two-year absence. It will take place Dec. 1-2 at the renovated convention center in downtown Cincinnati.

One other ex-Red transaction I overlooked yesterday was yet another journeyman lefty, Gabe White, signing with the Twins. (http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/wire?section=mlb&id=2281662) He'll battle it out with another former Redleg, Dennys Reyes, for a job in Minnesota's 'pen.

Scrap Irony
01-06-2006, 05:17 PM
I love the idea of a 6:15 starting time, as it means more kids should be able to go to games during the week while also in school. (Of course, the downside is that kids from neighboring areas such as Louisville, Lexington, or the Dayton area will find it difficult to get Moms and Dads away from work in time to go.)

flyer85
01-06-2006, 05:37 PM
[/URL] One other ex-Red transaction I overlooked yesterday was yet another journeyman lefty, Gabe White, [URL="http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/wire?section=mlb&id=2281662"]signing with the Twins. (http://frontier.cincinnati.com/blogs/spring/) He'll battle it out with another former Redleg, Dennys Reyes, for a job in Minnesota's 'pen.if they decide to wrestle for it I vote for "Big Sweat".

Chip R
01-06-2006, 05:41 PM
I love the idea of a 6:15 starting time, as it means more kids should be able to go to games during the week while also in school. (Of course, the downside is that kids from neighboring areas such as Louisville, Lexington, or the Dayton area will find it difficult to get Moms and Dads away from work in time to go.)

That's for Saturdays only, though.

creek14
01-06-2006, 05:42 PM
Speaking of April games...anyone going to the early series in Chicago? St. Louis? That's creek jr's spring break week and I am sort of planning a road trip. Right now I am disgusted with the FO and haven't make reservations, but I have the hotels bookmarked. Anyone else going? Anyone, anyone, Buehler?

jmac
01-06-2006, 08:46 PM
speaking of start times.....why the 12:30 business day special start time?i know it has been this way for ages but wouldnt reds have better attendance with a little later.i am on central time so the game is usually in the 6th inning or later when i get off work(1:30 cst)

Heath
01-06-2006, 10:58 PM
speaking of start times.....why the 12:30 business day special start time?i know it has been this way for ages but wouldnt reds have better attendance with a little later.i am on central time so the game is usually in the 6th inning or later when i get off work(1:30 cst)

Usually, those 12:35 starts are cleverly masked as "get-away" days - in most cases.

Actually - I think 12:35 starts during the weekday are good. It gives other people a chance to watch them (i.e. Seniors, long business lunches, College Kids skipping class, 2nd or 3rd Shift workers, teachers kids in the summer with their dad/mom, etc.)

Hellacious parking issues though...

Caveat Emperor
01-07-2006, 12:03 AM
Usually, those 12:35 starts are cleverly masked as "get-away" days - in most cases.

Actually - I think 12:35 starts during the weekday are good. It gives other people a chance to watch them (i.e. Seniors, long business lunches, College Kids skipping class, 2nd or 3rd Shift workers, teachers kids in the summer with their dad/mom, etc.)

Hellacious parking issues though...

If I could vote to ban all 12:35 "business day specials," I would do so in a heartbeat. The greedy leaches (and really, that's what you are if you own a flat piece of property with zero maintenance, giant signs divesting you of all liability for damage/theft, and still charge people $10 per day to put their car there) downtown double the price of a parking space for everyone coming to work in the morning, soaking everyone who has to be downtown for non-baseball reasons. And if you're actually going to the game, you're pretty much stuck parking either in Newport or Covington and walking across the bridge. Plus, in June and July, it's 900 degrees outside most afternoons anyway.

As for the night games being moved back an hour on the weekends, the cynic in me wants to say this is because they're trying to cut in to the "dinner and a game" crowd who has dinner at Newport or downtown and then goes to the game. With a 6:10 game start, they're effectively boxing you in to either eating really early (figure you'd have to sit down before 5 to even have a shot of getting dinner and still making it for the first pitch) or waiting until after the game and not sitting down until really late (9:00). By having the game start right in the middle of that time, more people are encouraged/required to partake of the food offerings at the ballpark and spend more money.

But, that's probably giving the Reds front office/marketing/sales people a little too much credit.

westofyou
01-07-2006, 12:14 AM
1956 starting times, all day games 1:30, all night games 8:00 all Twi-nights 6:00pm

KittyDuran
01-07-2006, 04:07 PM
1956 starting times, all day games 1:30, all night games 8:00 all Twi-nights 6:00pmIIRC - the 8pm night games time was also during the BRM era.

Heath
01-07-2006, 04:41 PM
IIRC - the 8pm night games time was also during the BRM era.

8:05pm until the mid 80's IIRC>

I remember going to one or two 8:05pm games and being home in Dayton by 11:30 - the same time I am now for a 7:10 game.

KittyDuran
01-07-2006, 10:33 PM
8:05pm until the mid 80's IIRC>

I remember going to one or two 8:05pm games and being home in Dayton by 11:30 - the same time I am now for a 7:10 game.Yep... me too! Hmmm... could it be that the games were faster???;)

Reds Fanatic
01-09-2006, 10:35 PM
Speaking of the schedule they have finally put all the game times on the Reds website. Except for a few road game times here is the full schedule. They have not released the TV schedule yet.



Spring Training

Thursday, March 2 @ Tigers 1:05 PM
Friday, March 3 @ Twins 1:05 PM
vs Tigers 1:05 PM
Saturday, March 4 @ Yankees 1:15 PM
Sunday, March 5 vs Devil Rays 1:05 PM
Monday, March 6 vs Phillies 1:05 PM
Tuesday, March 7 @ Blue Jays 1:05 PM
Wednesday, March 8 @ Twins 1:05 PM
vs Pirates 1:05 PM
Thursday, March 9 @ Pirates 1:05 PM
Friday, March 10 vs Yankees 1:05 PM
Saturday, March 11 vs Blue Jays 1:05 PM
Sunday, March 12 @ Phillies 1:05 PM
Monday, March 13 vs Twins 7:05 PM
Tuesday, March 14 @ Red Sox 1:05 PM
Thursday, March 16 vs Pirates 1:05 PM
Friday, March 17 @ Blue Jays 1:05 PM
Saturday, March 18 @ Braves 1:05 PM
@ Pirates 1:05 PM
Sunday, March 19 vs Phillies 1:05 PM
Monday, March 20 vs Blue Jays 1:05 PM
Tuesday, March 21 vs Indians 1:05 PM
Wednesday, March 22 @ Twins 7:05 PM
Thursday, March 23 @ Pirates 1:05 PM
Friday, March 24 @ Devil Rays 7:05 PM
Saturday, March 25 vs Twins 1:05 PM
Sunday, March 26 @ Indians 1:05 PM
Monday, March 27 vs Pirates 7:05 PM
Tuesday, March 28 vs Red Sox 6:05 PM
Wednesday, March 29 vs Devil Rays 1:05 PM
Thursday, March 30 @ Red Sox 1:05 PM
Friday, March 31 @ Indians 1:05 PM

April
Saturday, April 1 vs Indians 1:05 PM

Regular Season

Monday, April 3 vs Cubs 2:10 PM
Wednesday, April 5 vs Cubs 12:35 PM
Thursday, April 6 vs Pirates 7:10 PM
Friday, April 7 vs Pirates 7:10 PM
Saturday, April 8 vs Pirates 1:15 PM
Sunday, April 9 vs Pirates 1:15 PM
Tuesday, April 11 @ Cubs 2:20 PM
Wednesday, April 12 @ Cubs 2:20 PM
Thursday, April 13 @ Cubs 2:20 PM
Friday, April 14 @ Cardinals 8:10 PM
Saturday, April 15 @ Cardinals 2:15 PM
Sunday, April 16 @ Cardinals 2:15 PM
Monday, April 17 vs Marlins 7:10 PM
Tuesday, April 18 vs Marlins 7:10 PM
Wednesday, April 19 vs Marlins 12:35 PM
Thursday, April 20 @ Brewers 8:05 PM
Friday, April 21 @ Brewers 8:05 PM
Saturday, April 22 @ Brewers 2:05 PM
Sunday, April 23 @ Brewers 2:05 PM
Monday, April 24 @ Nationals 7:05 PM
Tuesday, April 25 @ Nationals 7:05 PM
Wednesday, April 26 @ Nationals 1:05 PM
Friday, April 28 vs Astros 7:10 PM
Saturday, April 29 vs Astros 1:15 PM
Sunday, April 30 vs Astros 1:15 PM

May
Monday, May 1 vs Cardinals 7:10 PM
Tuesday, May 2 vs Cardinals 12:35 PM
Wednesday, May 3 @ Rockies 8:35 PM
Thursday, May 4 @ Rockies 8:35 PM
Friday, May 5 @ Diamondbacks 9:40 PM
Saturday, May 6 @ Diamondbacks 9:40 PM
Sunday, May 7 @ Diamondbacks 4:40 PM
Tuesday, May 9 vs Nationals 7:10 PM
Wednesday, May 10 vs Nationals 7:10 PM
Thursday, May 11 vs Nationals 7:10 PM
Friday, May 12 vs Phillies 7:10 PM
Saturday, May 13 vs Phillies 6:10 PM
Sunday, May 14 vs Phillies 1:15 PM
Tuesday, May 16 @ Pirates 7:05 PM
Wednesday, May 17 @ Pirates 7:05 PM
Thursday, May 18 @ Pirates 12:35 PM
Friday, May 19 @ Tigers TBD
Saturday, May 20 @ Tigers TBD
Sunday, May 21 @ Tigers TBD
Monday, May 22 vs Brewers 7:10 PM
Tuesday, May 23 vs Brewers 7:10 PM
Wednesday, May 24 vs Brewers 7:10 PM
Friday, May 26 vs Diamondbacks 7:10 PM
Saturday, May 27 vs Diamondbacks 6:10 PM
Sunday, May 28 vs Diamondbacks 1:15 PM
Monday, May 29 @ Cubs 2:20 PM
Tuesday, May 30 @ Cubs 8:05 PM
Wednesday, May 31 @ Cubs 8:05 PM

June
Friday, June 2 @ Astros 8:05 PM
Saturday, June 3 @ Astros 7:05 PM
Sunday, June 4 @ Astros 2:05 PM
Monday, June 5 @ Cardinals 8:10 PM
Tuesday, June 6 @ Cardinals 8:10 PM
Wednesday, June 7 @ Cardinals 8:10 PM
Thursday, June 8 vs Cubs 7:10 PM
Friday, June 9 vs Cubs 7:10 PM
Saturday, June 10 vs Cubs 6:10 PM
Sunday, June 11 vs Cubs 1:15 PM
Monday, June 12 vs Brewers 7:10 PM
Tuesday, June 13 vs Brewers 7:10 PM
Wednesday, June 14 vs Brewers 12:35 PM
Friday, June 16 vs White Sox 7:10 PM
Saturday, June 17 vs White Sox 6:10 PM
Sunday, June 18 vs White Sox 1:15 PM
Monday, June 19 @ Mets 7:10 PM
Tuesday, June 20 @ Mets 7:10 PM
Wednesday, June 21 @ Mets 7:10 PM
Thursday, June 22 @ Mets 1:10 PM
Friday, June 23 @ Indians 7:05 PM
Saturday, June 24 @ Indians 7:05 PM
Sunday, June 25 @ Indians 1:05 PM
Tuesday, June 27 vs Royals 7:10 PM
Wednesday, June 28 vs Royals 7:10 PM
Thursday, June 29 vs Royals 7:10 PM
Friday, June 30 vs Indians 7:10 PM

July
Saturday, July 1 vs Indians 6:10 PM
Sunday, July 2 vs Indians 1:15 PM
Monday, July 3 @ Brewers 2:05 PM
Tuesday, July 4 @ Brewers 2:05 PM
Wednesday, July 5 @ Brewers 8:05 PM
Thursday, July 6 @ Braves 7:35 PM
Friday, July 7 @ Braves 7:35 PM
Saturday, July 8 @ Braves 7:05 PM
Sunday, July 9 @ Braves 1:05 PM
Thursday, July 13 vs Rockies 7:10 PM
Friday, July 14 vs Rockies 7:10 PM
Saturday, July 15 vs Rockies 6:10 PM
Sunday, July 16 vs Rockies 1:15 PM
Tuesday, July 18 vs Mets 7:10 PM
Wednesday, July 19 vs Mets 7:10 PM
Thursday, July 20 vs Mets 12:35 PM
Friday, July 21 vs Brewers 7:10 PM
Saturday, July 22 vs Brewers 6:10 PM
Sunday, July 23 vs Brewers 12:35 PM
Tuesday, July 25 @ Astros 8:05 PM
Wednesday, July 26 @ Astros 8:05 PM
Thursday, July 27 @ Astros 8:05 PM
Friday, July 28 @ Brewers 8:05 PM
Saturday, July 29 @ Brewers 7:05 PM
Sunday, July 30 @ Brewers 2:05 PM

August
Tuesday, August 1 vs Dodgers 7:10 PM
Wednesday, August 2 vs Dodgers 7:10 PM
Thursday, August 3 vs Dodgers 7:10 PM
Friday, August 4 vs Braves 7:10 PM
Saturday, August 5 vs Braves 1:20 PM FOX
Sunday, August 6 vs Braves 1:15 PM
Monday, August 7 vs Cardinals 7:10 PM
Tuesday, August 8 vs Cardinals 7:10 PM
Wednesday, August 9 vs Cardinals 7:10 PM
Thursday, August 10 vs Cardinals 12:35 PM
Friday, August 11 @ Phillies 7:05 PM
Saturday, August 12 @ Phillies 7:05 PM
Sunday, August 13 @ Phillies 1:35 PM
Tuesday, August 15 @ Cardinals 8:10 PM
Wednesday, August 16 @ Cardinals 8:10 PM
Thursday, August 17 @ Cardinals 2:10 PM
Friday, August 18 vs Pirates 7:10 PM
Saturday, August 19 vs Pirates 6:10 PM
Sunday, August 20 vs Pirates 1:15 PM
Monday, August 21 vs Astros 7:10 PM
Tuesday, August 22 vs Astros 7:10 PM
Wednesday, August 23 vs Astros 12:35 PM
Thursday, August 24 @ Giants 10:15 PM
Friday, August 25 @ Giants 10:15 PM
Saturday, August 26 @ Giants TBD
Sunday, August 27 @ Giants 4:05 PM
Monday, August 28 @ Dodgers 10:10 PM
Tuesday, August 29 @ Dodgers 10:10 PM
Wednesday, August 30 @ Dodgers 10:10 PM

September
Friday, September 1 @ Padres TBD
Saturday, September 2 @ Padres TBD
Sunday, September 3 @ Padres TBD
Monday, September 4 vs Giants 5:10 PM
Tuesday, September 5 vs Giants 7:10 PM
Wednesday, September 6 vs Giants 12:35 PM
Friday, September 8 vs Pirates 7:10 PM
Saturday, September 9 vs Pirates 6:10 PM
Sunday, September 10 vs Pirates 1:15 PM
Tuesday, September 12 vs Padres 7:10 PM
Wednesday, September 13 vs Padres 7:10 PM
Thursday, September 14 vs Padres 12:35 PM
Friday, September 15 @ Cubs 2:20 PM
Saturday, September 16 @ Cubs TBD
Sunday, September 17 @ Cubs 2:20 PM
Monday, September 18 @ Astros 8:05 PM
Tuesday, September 19 @ Astros 8:05 PM
Wednesday, September 20 @ Astros 2:05 PM
Friday, September 22 vs Cubs 7:10 PM
Saturday, September 23 vs Cubs 6:10 PM
Sunday, September 24 vs Cubs 1:15 PM
Monday, September 25 vs Cubs 12:35 PM
Tuesday, September 26 @ Marlins TBD
Wednesday, September 27 @ Marlins TBD
Thursday, September 28 @ Marlins TBD
Friday, September 29 @ Pirates 7:05 PM
Saturday, September 30 @ Pirates 7:05 PM

October
Sunday, October 1 @ Pirates 1:35 PM

westofyou
01-09-2006, 10:38 PM
Thursday, August 24 @ Giants 10:15 PM
Friday, August 25 @ Giants 10:15 PM
Saturday, August 26 @ Giants TBD
Sunday, August 27 @ Giants 4:05 PM That's pretty late for a trip west, very doable too.

KronoRed
01-09-2006, 10:52 PM
Last home game of the year is a Monday?

Heath
01-10-2006, 12:28 AM
No ESPN Sunday Night game - yet.

KittyDuran
01-10-2006, 10:19 AM
Just put in 2 days off (Friday and Monday) for the weekend series in Cleveland. Also ask for Opening Day off - we'll see if I get lucky with a ticket. :)

Heath
01-10-2006, 01:40 PM
Just put in 2 days off (Friday and Monday) for the weekend series in Cleveland. Also ask for Opening Day off - we'll see if I get lucky with a ticket. :)

To help fund her trips, kitty's offering seats in her car for a "nominal" fee.

Its a only a rumor. And a fake one at that. :D

KittyDuran
01-10-2006, 05:24 PM
To help fund her trips, kitty's offering seats in her car for a "nominal" fee.

Its a only a rumor. And a fake one at that. :DHmmm....;)

deltachi8
01-10-2006, 05:31 PM
See you in Cleveland Kitty...

Also plan on heading to Detroit, just 4 hours across Canada for me...

KittyDuran
01-10-2006, 09:44 PM
See you in Cleveland Kitty...

Also plan on heading to Detroit, just 4 hours across Canada for me...I got Detroit highlighted on the schedule - have to see how the finances are. BTW, it's a little over 4 hours for me as well - going up I-75 [about same amount of time as going to Cleveland]. I'd love to go to Chicago but the weekend series is all the way in September.