View Full Version : 2006-2007 Potential Free Agents

01-29-2006, 01:39 PM
Unofficial Major League Baseball
2006- 2007 Free Agents



Jorge Posada (Team Option)

Damian Miller (Team + Player option)

Henry Blanco

Doug Mirabelli
Javier Valentin
Vance Wilson
Chris Widger
Paul Bako
Kelly Stinnett
Gregg Zaun
Gary Bennett
Ken Huckaby
Todd Greene
Einar Diaz
Raul Casanova
John Flaherty
Mike DiFelice
Alberto Castillo
Todd Pratt
Sandy Alomar Jr.
Eddie Perez

Ivan Rodriguez (Poss. Void Option)
Rod Barajas

Javy Lopez

Mike Redmond


Sean Casey

Phil Nevin
Shea Hillenbrand
Dmitri Young
Kevin Millar
Frank Thomas
Eduardo Perez (Team Option)
J.T. Snow
Nomar Garciaparra
Doug Mientkiewicz
Carl Everett (Team Option)
Tim Salmon
Robert Fick
Jeff Conine (Mutual Option)
Brian Daubach
John Mabry

Derrek Lee

Jeff Bagwell (Team Option)

Darin Erstad

Dimitri Young (Team Option)

David Ortiz (Team Option)

Craig Wilson

Nick Johnson

Aubrey Huff


Luis Castillo (Team Option)
Junior Spivey
Mark Lorretta
Ray Durham
Bret Boone
Frank Menechino
Miguel Cairo
Fernando Vina
Tony Graffanino
Pokey Reese
Mark Grudzielanek (Poss. Player Option)
Damian Jackson
Damion Easley
Ronnie Belliard
Eric Young
Mark Bellhorn
Joe McEwing
Craig Biggio

Adam Kennedy

Jeff Kent
Jerry Hairston Jr.
Geoff Blum

Juan Castro (Team Option)

Tony Womack

Alfonso Soriano


Edgardo Alfonzo
Aaron Boone (Mutual Option)
Lenny Harris
Tony Batista
Wes Helms
Joe Randa

David Bell

Vinny Castilla

Melvin Mora

Tony Batista

Pedro Feliz


Tomas Perez (club option)

Kazuo Matsui (can opt for either free agency or arb.)

Craig Counsell

Julio Lugo
Chris Gomez
Rich Aurilia (Mutual Option)
Deivi Cruz
Lou Merloni
Manny Alexander
Jose Vizcaino
Jose Valentin


Luis Gonzalez (Mutual Option)

Ricky Ledee

Barry Bonds

Ryan Klesko (Team Option)

Cliff Floyd
Carlos Lee
Todd Hollandsworth
Eli Marrero
Rondell White (Team Option)

Raul Ibanez

David Dellucci


Jim Edmonds (Team Option)

Mike Cameron (Team Option)

Juan Pierre
Kenny Lofton
Marquis Grissom
Bernie Williams
Preston Wilson (3-year Team Option)
Gary Matthews Jr.
Jay Payton
Randy Winn

Torii Hunter (Team Option)

Steve Finley (Team Option)

Milton Bradley

Aaron Rowand (Player + Team Options)(arb.)

Dave Roberts


Gary Sheffield (Team Option)

Shannon Stewart
Michael Tucker
Matt Stairs
Brian Jordan
Matt Lawton
Moises Alou
Jeromy Burnitz (Mutual Option)
Jacob Cruz
Jose Cruz Jr. (Team Option)

Trot Nixon

Frank Catalanotto

Jermaine Dye (Team Option)

J.D. Drew (Player Void Option)

Jose Guillen


Paul Wilson (Team Option)
Wade Miller
Tomo Ohka
Andy Ashby
Ramon Ortiz
Jason Johnson (Mutual Option)
Gil Meche
Joe Mays
Byung-Hyun Kim (Team Option)
Sidney Ponson
Tony Armas Jr.
Jose Contreras
Kevin Jarvis
Greg Maddux
Brian Moehler
Jason Schmidt
Jeff Suppan
Rick Helling
Woody Williams

Brad Radke

Kerry Wood (Mutual Option)

Mike Mussina (Team Option)

Cory Lidle

Kelvim Escobar

Chan Ho Park

Jose Contreras

Ryan Franklin

Orlando Hernandez

Jaret Wright (Team + Player Void options)

Kip Wells

Jason Marquis

Vicente Padilla

Adam Eaton

Tim Wakefield (Annual Team Renew Option)


Ted Lilly
Brian Anderson
Mark Redman
Shawn Estes
Tom Glavine
Kevin Appier
Jamie Moyer

Andy Pettitte

Mark Mulder

Barry Zito

Doug Davis

Randy Wolf

Mark Buerhle (Team Option)
David Wells

Wilson Alvarez (Retired)

Darrell May

Eric Milton (Void Option)


Arthur Rhodes
Bruce Chen
Aaron Fultz
C.J. Nitkowski
Terry Mulholland
Alan Embree
Dennys Reyes
Darrell May
Mike Stanton
John Wasdin
Gabe White
Kelly Wunsch
Darren Oliver
Chris Hammond (Mutual Option--Likely to Retire)
Joey Eischen
Scott Sauerbeck (Team Option)

Rheal Cormier(Team Option)

Ray King (Team Option)

Justin Speier

Kent Mercker

Steve Kline

Scott Schoenweis

Damaso Marte (Team Option) (arb.)

J.C. Romero (Team Option)

Ron Villone

Trever Miller (Vesting Option)


Solomon Torres
Jim Brower
David Riske
Roberto Hernandez
Kerry Ligtenberg
Matt Mantei
Joe Borowski
Danys Baez
Jeff Nelson
LaTroy Hawkins
Rudy Seanez (Team Option)
Giovanni Carrara
Danny Graves
Steve Karsay
Octavio Dotel
Jason Grimsley
Ramiro Mendoza
Chad Bradford
Doug Brocail
Mike Lincoln
Jose Mesa (Team Option)
Russ Springer
Carlos Almanzar
David Weathers
Mike Timlin
Tanyon Sturtze
Scott Strickland
Terry Adams
Julio Santana (possibly arb.)
Mike DeJean (Mutual Option)

Esteban Yan

Ron Mahay (Team Option)

Chris Reitsma

Guillermo Mota

Dan Kolb


Mariano Rivera (Team Option)

Troy Percival

Francisco Cordero (Team Option)

Keith Foulke (Mutual + Player Option)

Dustin Hermanson (Team option)

John Smoltz (Team Option)

Eric Gagne (Team Option + Player Void Option)
Eddie Guardado
Bob Wickman


Clint Hurdle
Ned Yost
Bobby Cox
Frank Robinson

Dusty Baker

Jerry Narron (Mutual Option)

Bob Melvin (Team Option)

Eric Wedge

Terry Francona (Team Option)

Felipe Alou (Team Option)

General Manager:

Dan O Dowd

Allard Baird

Brian Sabean
Jim Hendry
Dan O' Brien
John Schuerholz

Free Agency Rules:

Must have 6 full years of Major League service time to be eligible for free agency (both Disabled-List and Active Roster time count for service) (1 year of service is equal to 162 games)
The players contract must also expire for him to be eligible for Free Agency
Players can not sign with other teams then their own until after the 15-Day Period following the conclusion of the World Series. During the 15 days they can negotiate with their previous team and if an agreement is not reached, that player can file for Free Agency.
Sometime between Dec. 18 and Dec. 22 players who are not arbitration eligible, cannot re-sign with their old teams until May 15 of the next year.
Players who are offered arbitration can re-sign till January 8th. On this day they must declare whether they accept or reject arbitration. If he accepts arbitration he has re-signed with his old team can still can sign a deal with that team before his arbitration hearing. If he goes into arb., the single year contract value is decided by an MLB arbitrator
An un-signed player who has at least 3 years of service time is also eligible for arbitration. The top 1 third of players as determined by their statistics are also be eligible for arbitration. Players are arb.-eligible again in there 4th and 5th years of service, if he does not have a multi-year contract and meets requirements. A player with 2 years of service time, if an arbitrator deems the player a Super-Two. This usually happens if a player has been a starter for his first two seasons and his stats resembles those of the top players at that position.
A minor league player who has spent the previous six years with the same organization is also eligible for minor league free agency. A player that has six years of minor league service, with various teams, is also deemed a six-year Minor League FA.
At the end of each year each free agent is dubbed a Type A or Type B or Type C depending on their stats with Type A free agents being at the top third of the stats that MLB uses. A team that loses a Type A free agent is compensated with the 1st round pick of the team that signs him. This team also gets a supplemental or sandwich pick between rounds 1 and 2. A team losing a Type B free agent is simply compensated with the highest player that is signed. For instance if Team A signs X and O but only O who was picked in the 2nd round was signed. Team B would only get Player O not X. But in both cases a team selecting in the 1st half of the 1st round cannot lose its 1st round pick. Teams that lose Type C free agents are compensated with a sandwich pick between rounds 2 and 3.

A Transactions Glossary can be found here
and also here

01-29-2006, 01:47 PM
Yup.. Castellini makes a statement and signs Schmidt, Zito, Mulder, and Nick Johnson. Wouldn't that be something.

01-29-2006, 01:54 PM
Some very intresting names on that list.