PDA

View Full Version : Timo Perez plays waiting game

savafan
03-02-2006, 12:47 PM
http://news.cincypost.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060302/SPT05/603020321/1027

By Marc Lancaster
Post staff reporter

SARASOTA, Fla. - With 62 players in camp, the big-league clubhouse at the Reds' spring training facility is bustling with activity early each morning.

It isn't until a few hours later, a little after 10 a.m., that the guy who helped win a World Series title last year arrives quietly, slipping in the side door of a minor league clubhouse that resembles a high school gym class locker room.

Timo Perez doesn't quite know what to make of his situation with the Reds.

"It's my first time in minor league camp," he said Wednesday. "But I enjoy it here. I'm working hard."

Perez, who will turn 31 next month, is part of the Reds' early mini-camp for up-and-coming minor league players. Of course, he spent all of last season in the majors, and much of the previous five seasons as well, following a five-year stint in the Japanese professional leagues.

He played in 76 games for the Chicago White Sox last year, hitting .218, and though he came to the plate only once in the 2005 World Series, that's more than anyone in the Reds' major league clubhouse can say.

Because of visa limitations, Perez is not permitted to play in games where admission is charged. That prevents him from participating in Grapefruit League games and thus keeps him out of major league camp. The Reds were aware of the situation when they signed Perez to a minor-league deal Feb. 9, and even though the outfield- er isn't available to them in the short term, there's a chance he could be a contributor this season.