PDA

View Full Version : Unselfish play

Red Leader
06-23-2006, 10:58 AM
RFS's posts on RZ about Liriano and other stuff that might not get the publicity or notice it deserves reminded me of a game I watched last week. It was a Yankees game. Randy Johnson vs Brett Myers and the Phils. Absolutely drove me nuts. Jorge Posada was catching Randy Johnson, and it was a nightmare. I've always been told since I started playing the position that the best trait a catcher can have is to be unselfish. All pitchers are different. Some need you to take the bull by the horns and call the game for them. Some need to feel that they are in charge, and that they are in command of the game. That's what gives them confidence to make the pitch when they need to in a tight spot.