PDA

View Full Version : Help!! Any legal minds here? Plasma injury...

GriffeyFan
08-14-2006, 06:52 PM
Hello all:

Here's the situation.

I have been donating plasma twice a week for about 2 months now (took a 10-day break in the middle). Anyway, every donation had been fine until last Wednesday. During this donation, the technician (or whatever you can them) apparently put the needle in too far and caused a hematoma on my arm. My left arm (around the inside of the elbow as well as part of the forearm and above the elbow - pretty much my entire left arm) are very bruised. The nurse there said it would only last 2-3 days. It's now been 5 and it's as sore as it was the day of.

After suffering the injury on Wednesday, I went back in on Friday to show them my arm. They went ahead and gave me my $25 without donating and I went home. This extreme soreness is still going on and is very painful. I had to miss work last Thursday.

I want to have it checked out by my doctor but I'm on my own now and can't really afford hundreds of dollars if they would do tests and such (I have to pay the first $400 before insurance kicks in).

So my question to any legal minds here would be this: would I be able to "sue" the plasma center for doctor fees? I don't remember what I signed off on when I first started. I don't know if I signed a waiver of some sort or not and I doubt they would tell me if I did. I want to find this out.

Let me know if anyone has had a similiar experience or remember if you had to sign a waiver or not.

Chainer
08-14-2006, 08:18 PM
What hospital are they affiliated with? If they are affiliated with a hospital, the plasma center should be able to get you free treatment, if pushed enough.

Dom Heffner
08-14-2006, 08:28 PM
I don't remember what I signed off on when I first started. I don't know if I signed a waiver of some sort or not and I doubt they would tell me if I did. I want to find this out.