PDA

View Full Version : I have a dilemna

OldRightHander
08-22-2006, 06:14 PM
I have a little dilemna. I came home today and there in the mailbox was a summons to jury duty, starting September 18. Since I am an independent contractor and no longer an employee of anyone, if I take those days off to go sit at the courthouse, I won't be making money. The company I am contracted to doesn't pay independent drivers anything for jury duty like they do their actual employees. That's where you all come in. I'm going to call the county tomorrow and plead my case, but if anyone else has any creative ideas for getting out of jury duty, I'm open to suggestions.

justincredible
08-22-2006, 06:40 PM
That's a toughie. I got the jury summons once but got out of it because I was going to school 100 miles away from home.

BuckWoody
08-22-2006, 07:03 PM
Tell them your situation and they'll let you out. I had a very similar circumstance a few years ago. I was a contractor and did not get paid unless I was physically at work...no jury duty pay. I wrote a letter to the court explaining things and enclosed a letter from my employer at the time stating that I would not receive pay. I was released from duty.

oneupper
08-23-2006, 09:46 AM
Become an illegal alien. :D

i_heart_jason
08-23-2006, 09:48 AM
develop a tic. :)

BoydsOfSummer
08-23-2006, 12:43 PM
Tell them you believe everybody in prison should be executed,no matter the crime. That should do it.

BUTLER REDSFAN
08-23-2006, 01:19 PM
i told em we had a family reunion planned in tennessee that had been planned for months

dabvu2498
08-23-2006, 01:53 PM
Tell them you believe everybody in prison should be executed,no matter the crime. That should do it.
I actually saw one similar to that. It would be inappropriate to tell it here. PM me and I'll put it on you.

guttle11
08-23-2006, 02:02 PM
Just say, "He looks guilty" over and over.

That, or never vote again.

SunDeck
08-23-2006, 02:07 PM
A family reunion...and that worked?