PDA

View Full Version : Your first ballglove

Ltlabner
09-03-2006, 07:58 PM
What brand was your first ballglove?

When did you get it?

Who gave it to you?

Any special story behind it?

My first was a McGreggor but I don't know the model. I don't remember how I got it but I think my folks got it at a garage sale or something. It was in so-so shape and worked for youth league ball.

I think I still have it out in the gargage.

HumnHilghtFreel
09-03-2006, 08:03 PM
Great thread.

I started playing when I was 5 in a coach-pitch league... I skipped Tee-Ball, I guess just because I was so good(lol). My mom took me to the store and let me pick out my own glove and being a normal 5 year old, as soon as I saw the green and yellow Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles glove, I knew that was the one for me.

I wish I still had it, but it fell apart and I got a real glove a few years later.

killuminati35
09-03-2006, 09:07 PM
My glove was an old Rawlings that my older brother had used for years. It was so broken in and the leather was worn, but that glove got a LOT of use out of it. It held up better than the $175 firstbaseman mitt I got in high school.

Always Red
09-03-2006, 09:17 PM
...is nailed to the wall in my basement.

A Paul Blair model Wilson; given to me from my dad, who passed away last fall.

I've had 3 or 4 gloves since that little mitt; but that's the only one I have saved:beerme:

RollyInRaleigh
09-03-2006, 09:53 PM
A Regent from the Hardware Store that my dad worked at. My first "real" ballglove was a Rawlings "basket web" model that I truly loved. I believe I slept with that glove for a solid year. Bought it with the money I earned mowing my grandmother's yard for a summer. I love baseball gloves. Just bought my son a really nice Rawings glove. (Heart of the Hide) We are in the "break-in" process right now. Going to take a while. Love the way a new ball glove smells.

Yachtzee
09-03-2006, 10:02 PM