PDA

View Full Version : Baker 'interested' in A's vacancy but won't call Beane

Number_Fourteen
10-19-2006, 08:54 AM
If hired, it would be a homecoming for the former Giants manager

By Dave Newhouse
MEDIANEWS

The A's need a new manager, and former Giants skipper Dusty Baker says he'd "be interested."

"In the Bay Area, oh, yeah. It would be nice for me and my family." Baker said by telephone Monday.

Ken Macha apparently didn't communicate enough in the A's clubhouse. Communication is Baker's strong suit. He is the consummate player's manager, a natural leader.

"My best is yet to come," Baker said. "Whoever gets me is gonna get a manager who's on a mission to win. I'm a better manager because of what happened the last couple of years."

The Chicago Cubs self-destructed this season. Ace pitchers Kerry Wood and Mark Prior couldn't throw. Derrek Lee and Michael Barrett missed significant playing time because of injuries. The Cubs didn't win, and Baker was fired.

"You hate to see it happen to a colleague," Baker said of Macha. "But it happens in baseball. Nobody knows the problem. Most of the time, they have only part of the information. If I come out and say it, you're slighting the organization, you're slighting the players, and you're slighting yourself."

Baker guided the Giants into the 2002 World Series. If not for Scott Spiezio's three-run homer in the eighth inning of Game 6, the Giants likely would have beaten Anaheim.

Baker also led the Cubs to the 2003 National League Championship Series. If not for the infamous Steve Bartman, the Cubs might have beaten Florida.

Also, 20 years ago, Baker wound up a splendid playing career in Oakland. So he has an understanding of how the A's organization works.

"I do know him," he said of A's general manager Billy Beane, "though not that well."

Does Baker believe Beane thinks kindly of him?

"Yeah, yeah," he said, "as far as I know. But you can't hire yourself."

Baker said he won't pick up the phone and call Beane.