PDA

View Full Version : A Historically bad Homestand...

coachw513
05-27-2007, 11:12 AM
I'm not able to find this, but if we happen to finish this homestand 1-7 or even 2-6, both based on record BUT ALSO based on the caliber of opponent (and their winning %), this HAS to go down as one of the worst homestand in Reds' history...

Congratulations are in order :beerme:

Seriously, as a coach I'm always fascinated/intrigued by the psychology of sports within the MAJOR LEAGUE lockerroom...as much as things are certainly differerent due to the salaries, the massive talent AND massive egos, I'm even more convinced things are the same as a college or even a high school clubhouse...synergy is real and just as a winning combination/atmosphere breeds more winning it appears that losing has beget much more losing...

As you read quotes on a daily basis it's apparent that even the veterans on this team have gotten the "deer in the headlights" feeling...no one can understand it, they all are wallowing around in it and unfortunately I don't see a collection of dynamic personalities capable of pulling them out of it...

I don't blame Narron but we're getting periously close (if we aren't already there) to needing to make a change if simply to make a statement that says "We care about being better"...now in reality, will a managerial change make that big a difference???...I doubt it, though I do believe you'd see more wins early on (remember the effect of both Miley and Narron initially-change is good sometimes simply for change sake-but we need more than that certainly!!)...