PDA

View Full Version : Ex Red Wagner to have shoulder surgery

cumberlandreds
06-05-2007, 07:11 AM
May be the end of the road for former Red, Ryan Wagner. He's going to shoulder surgery for a rotator cuff injury.

http://www.wtopnews.com/?nid=398&sid=1157947

RedFanAlways1966
06-05-2007, 07:38 AM
Wonder if JimBo will file a grievance against the REDS?!? ;)

I hope Ryan has a speedy recovery and bounces back.

MrCinatit
06-05-2007, 08:03 AM
Not a good trade for relievers all around.

Sea Ray
06-05-2007, 09:46 AM
Seeing his mechanics as a rookie I doubt any of us are surprised. Looking back now who in their right mind would have scouted this kid and said "spend a 1st round pick on him"? Makes you wonder...

Ravenlord
06-05-2007, 09:47 AM
Seeing his mechanics as a rookie I doubt any of us are surprised. Looking back now who in their right mind would have scouted this kid and said "spend a 1st round pick on him"? Makes you wonder...

i agree. i think Hansen was who i thought the Reds should have taken in the 1st that year.

oneupper
06-05-2007, 10:04 AM
Not a good trade for relievers all around.

nm

cumberlandreds
06-05-2007, 10:52 AM
I know I learned from this that you should never take a reliever with your first pick. IMO, it's just plain dumb.

Sea Ray
06-05-2007, 11:40 AM
I know I learned from this that you should never take a reliever with your first pick. IMO, it's just plain dumb.

I think that's not a bad general rule but Brandon Marrow looks pretty good for Seattle

pedro
06-05-2007, 12:02 PM
Darryl Thompson and Brendan Harris are the only two players from that trade doing jack this year. Kearns and Lopez are having horrible years so far.

Pretty freaking sad all around.

SteelSD
06-05-2007, 12:23 PM

Interestingly enough, Bill Bray was selected 14th overall in the 2004 Draft- one slot lower than where Wagner was nabbed in 2003. Current Washington Closer Chad Cordero (20th overall) was drafted 7 slots behind Wagner in 2003.

Just found that kind of weird.