PDA

View Full Version : Polanco's Errorless Streak



Sea Ray
08-27-2007, 10:29 AM
I thought Polanco made an error in Friday's game vs the Yankees yet this morning's Enquirer says that his errorless streak is still going at 150 games. Did I miss something? Did they pull his error from Friday? Anyone know?

dabvu2498
08-27-2007, 10:46 AM
Official scorer changed the ruling.

Complete BS.

http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/news/story?id=2991265

Sea Ray
08-27-2007, 10:54 AM
That is complete BS. How can the first baseman be guilty if the wide throw pulls him off the bag? This reminds me of the sack of Brett Favre by Michael Strahan giving him the record.

I will say this, I thought it was a bad call by the umpire. I thought the first baseman's foot was still on the bag. I think the batter was out.

TOBTTReds
08-27-2007, 11:03 AM
I agree with the scoring. No way was it a bad throw on Polanco. The throw was maybe two feet right of the bag. Play should have been made by the 1B. This was the right call IMO.

Sea Ray
08-27-2007, 11:05 AM
I agree with the scoring. No way was it a bad throw on Polanco. The throw was maybe two feet right of the bag. Play should have been made by the 1B. This was the right call IMO.

If it wasn't the throw then why did Thames take his foot off the bag? Did he just forget about the rule that says you have to keep your foot on the bag to record an out?

westofyou
08-27-2007, 11:11 AM
If it wasn't the throw then why did Thames take his foot off the bag? Did he just forget about the rule that says you have to keep your foot on the bag to record an out?

Thames is a converted OF, never played 1st until this season.

dougdirt
08-27-2007, 12:25 PM
That is complete BS. How can the first baseman be guilty if the wide throw pulls him off the bag? This reminds me of the sack of Brett Favre by Michael Strahan giving him the record.

I will say this, I thought it was a bad call by the umpire. I thought the first baseman's foot was still on the bag. I think the batter was out.

Just have to comment on the Favre/Strahan thing.... Yeah, Favre fell to the ground.... but if he didn't he was going to get crushed by Strahan. At the point Favre went to the ground, it was eitehr do that, or get drilled. He made the right decision.

Danny Serafini
08-27-2007, 12:51 PM
Just have to comment on the Favre/Strahan thing.... Yeah, Favre fell to the ground.... but if he didn't he was going to get crushed by Strahan. At the point Favre went to the ground, it was eitehr do that, or get drilled. He made the right decision.

The problem is that he called the play to go away from Strahan, then ran himself in the opposite direction to give Strahan that free shot. It was a gift.

TOBTTReds
08-27-2007, 01:00 PM
Thames is a converted OF, never played 1st until this season.

Yup. I've mention footwork around the 1B bag a lot recently here. Thames again didn't position himself correctly. A lot of guys actually pull their foot off the bag when they don't need to.

toledodan
08-27-2007, 01:17 PM
Yup. I've mention footwork around the 1B bag a lot recently here. Thames again didn't position himself correctly. A lot of guys actually pull their foot off the bag when they don't need to.

the tigers official scorer talked to the first base umpire saturday about the play. the umpire though the error should have went on thames which was good enough for the scorer to make the change. in fairness the home scorer is no different there compared to anywhere else. there is always scoring decisions that will raise eyebrows every night. hits that should have been errors and vise versa happen quite often.

Sea Ray
08-27-2007, 02:08 PM
the tigers official scorer talked to the first base umpire saturday about the play. the umpire though the error should have went on thames which was good enough for the scorer to make the change. in fairness the home scorer is no different there compared to anywhere else. there is always scoring decisions that will raise eyebrows every night. hits that should have been errors and vise versa happen quite often.

I'm wondering if the umpire knew he blew the call and for that reason he didn't want baseball's record book to be altered. How many of you have seen the replay in slow motion? How many think his foot was still on the bag?