PDA

View Full Version : Advanced DirecTV Stuff



JaxRed
11-18-2007, 10:12 AM
Just tried 3 new things with my HD DirecTV recievers.

a) Video on Demand
b) External HD
c) Media Share

All three are "beta"

Video on Demand
Pretty new feature for Directv. But it worked pretty well. Comes in over your IP conection. I have cable internet and the speed it comes in is greater than the speed it plays at, so there is no lag time. You can start watching immediately. (They said you had to download 60% to ensure this)

Pretty decent selection and 95% of it was free. There was nothing in HD at the moment.

Once it's on the machine it plays just like every other media (shows up on playlists, etc)

External HD

HR 20's have 250 gig internal hard drive. And you can't save HD to any medium (in HD) to archive. But you can hook up an external HD with SATA interface and use it. You can swap back an forth between the 2 by shutting down and plugging/unplugging the external.

Since their is no limit to the number of externals you could buy/use, you can archive as much as you want/can afford.

I paid about $175 for an internal drive and an enclosure. First time I ever tried that. It's not hard, but it's certainly not easily swappable. So I may just look for cheap externals in the future.

The MAJOR caveat.... at the present the content is tied to the HD DVR it was recorded on. You lose that DVR..... your stuff won't play on other DVRs. Hopefully DirecTv figures a way to allow you to use on a machine at same location.


Media Share

If your DVR is on internet, it recogizes your networked computers and can play pictures and or music from those computers as a slide show. Looks like it has to come from your My Documents folder. It shows a video choice but didn't recognize/play and videos.

GoReds
11-18-2007, 02:30 PM
Hey Jax, I have the HDDVR as well. How did you get hooked up with the VOD?

JaxRed
11-18-2007, 02:57 PM
Assuming you have a high speed internet connection, plug an ethernet line into back of DVR. Then go to channel 1000. (make sure you are looking at "all channels") It's pretty easy from there.....

GoReds
11-18-2007, 03:24 PM
Therein lies the problem, unfortunately. I have satellite internet, which is fine speed-wise, but they have a fair access policy that limits daily downloads to 375MB. Any movie tends to be 600MB or better.

I'd love satellite if it wasn't for that.

JaxRed
11-18-2007, 03:38 PM
Assuming you have Directv's internet, I can't believe they'd punish you for downloading their own stuff....

GoReds
11-18-2007, 03:55 PM
You'd also think that, by having Directv and Hughesnet, I'd get some sort of a package discount.

Not so much.

bengalsown
11-18-2007, 11:07 PM
Wow I didn't know those things were possible.

Could I wirelessly connect to my network somehow?

I need to look into this...

durl
11-18-2007, 11:45 PM
Don't forget that Remote Scheduling software has begun to roll out. You'll be able to program a recording on your HR20 via Directv's website. (A mobile browser page was also available during the beta; hopefully it will carry over.)

The cool thing is that your receiver will not have to be connected to the internet for it to work.


Could I wirelessly connect to my network somehow?

You can connect your receiver to the internet directly via a cable or wirelessly. However, you can NOT use the USB port to connect to the network. You have to go Ethernet. A gaming adapter is often recommended.


The MAJOR caveat.... at the present the content is tied to the HD DVR it was recorded on. You lose that DVR..... your stuff won't play on other DVRs. Hopefully DirecTv figures a way to allow you to use on a machine at same location.

I'm guessing that the ability to take your eSata drive to another location and watch it's content will not be enabled any time soon. If I recall correctly, distribution and copyright laws come into play. But I admit that I could be wrong on this one.

JaxRed
11-19-2007, 12:57 PM
I checked on the remote scheduling (called "Remote Booking") over weekend also but it doesn't show up for me. I don't run any of the CE releases.

Although taking my ESATA drive to someother place would be nice.... all I want is the ability to plug it into another DVR on my account, even if it's a one-time "switch".

KYRedsFan
11-19-2007, 10:55 PM
Tons of answers can be found at dbstalk.com
Great site. Recently wirelessly networked by HD DVR. The media share is nice, I like Xbox360's better, but with this you can watch TV and listen to your music which obviously can't be done through the 360. The photo share is kind of buggy for me, and the On Demand "could" be great, it will just matter what kind of content is offered. No HBO and no major networks is limiting the usefulness for me at present, but it's a great new toy.

GAC
11-24-2007, 10:13 AM
OK. Just bit the bullet and ordered Directv. I got their Choice Xtra package w/ HD access included. Regularly 64.95/month, I got it for 44.95/month for 12 months. My HD Receiver is totally free with no monthly lease. I also get the NFL package free the remainder of the season.

They are scheduled to install it next Friday.

What exactly is VOD? Does it work like Time Warner's "On Demand"? Their internet is not available in my area, which is just as well because I'm keeping my HS internet through Charter Communications (and dumping the rest). I then have Linksys wireless networking with the other computers in the house, including my son's XBox and Xbox360.

GIK
11-24-2007, 10:57 AM
Guys, I'm also interested in getting Directv. However, I need the HD DVR. I've never had to buy one, always leased through the cable company. Looks like it's $199 after rebate. Is this right? No month/month option? Just making sure before I go for it.

Also, for Internet, do most go DSL since it's not an all-in-one service like cable?

919191
11-24-2007, 03:51 PM
GIK, that's the way I understand it, I've checked ot out, as I am probably switching form Dish to Direct before spring.

Yachtzee
11-24-2007, 04:48 PM
Guys, I'm also interested in getting Directv. However, I need the HD DVR. I've never had to buy one, always leased through the cable company. Looks like it's $199 after rebate. Is this right? No month/month option? Just making sure before I go for it.

Also, for Internet, do most go DSL since it's not an all-in-one service like cable?

I stuck with cable internet. My local carrier for DSL has their deal with Dish Network and I wanted DirectTV. I paid the same for cable internet with or without cable tv service, so I actually paid less for cable internet and DirectTV than I was with cable internet and cable tv.

GAC
11-24-2007, 05:41 PM
Also, for Internet, do most go DSL since it's not an all-in-one service like cable?

I can't get DSL out in my region for some reason. I checked with Directv and their internet is not available in my region. And when I checked with Embarq on their DSL, it's not available either. No matter though - I'm keeping Charter's HS cable modem internet.

GAC
11-25-2007, 09:55 AM
I'm trying to do some research on Directv's VOD more. I understand it's basically playing "catch up" with Comcast and other cable providers who provide a "On Demand" service.

According to what I've read.....

DirecTV subscribers with the company’s high-definition DVR receiver and a high-speed modem connection will be able to access more than 2,000 on-demand movies — many of which will be in high-definition — as well as the cable-network content.

My question is.... I have my HS internet cable modem service through Charter Communications. I then have a wireless Linksys system set up in the house.

Am I going to be able to utilize that (tap into that modem) in order to download/utilize Directv's VOD? And does it only function with the HD DVR? I'm only getting the HD Receiver.

And on a different note.....

They are coming out next Friday to install Directv. When I talked with them I told them that I really didn't want the dish attached to the house (roof, or on the side). This is basically a new house build, and one of my wife's quirks is that she doesn't want them drilling into the structure. Their rep told me that they can install a tripod with which the dish is mounted on. It will be in our backyard, next to the house, with a clear shot of the southeast.

Does anyone have any experience with, or know anymore about this? Thanks.

Yachtzee
11-25-2007, 10:05 AM
I'm trying to do some research on Directv's VOD more. I understand it's basically playing "catch up" with Comcast and other cable providers who provide a "On Demand" service.

According to what I've read.....

DirecTV subscribers with the company’s high-definition DVR receiver and a high-speed modem connection will be able to access more than 2,000 on-demand movies — many of which will be in high-definition — as well as the cable-network content.

My question is.... I have my HS internet cable modem service through Charter Communications. I then have a wireless Linksys system set up in the house.

Am I going to be able to utilize that (tap into that modem) in order to download/utilize Directv's VOD? And does it only function with the HD DVR? I'm only getting the HD Receiver.

And on a different note.....

They are coming out next Friday to install Directv. When I talked with them I told them that I really didn't want the dish attached to the house (roof, or on the side). This is basically a new house build, and one of my wife's quirks is that she doesn't want them drilling into the structure. Their rep told me that they can install a tripod with which the dish is mounted on. It will be in our backyard, next to the house, with a clear shot of the southeast.

Does anyone have any experience with, or know anymore about this? Thanks.

Can't tell you about the other stuff, but I'm interested to hear how the tripod works out. If I ever get DirectTV HD service, I might have to go that route because I have too many trees in my backyard. Apparently they don't block the regular DirectTV Satellite, but they do block the satellite that provides HD service.

GAC
11-25-2007, 10:19 AM
Can't tell you about the other stuff, but I'm interested to hear how the tripod works out. If I ever get DirectTV HD service, I might have to go that route because I have too many trees in my backyard. Apparently they don't block the regular DirectTV Satellite, but they do block the satellite that provides HD service.

The Directv rep that I talked with yesterday - and he was very upfront - said they have had alot of trouble with this one company they use (contract) for installation, called Skylink. He told me that he wish Directv would dump them.

I appreciated his forthrightness. He tried to call them numerous times yesterday, while I was waiting, and get more info on the tripod; but he kept getting their voice message service. He told me that was one of the downfalls with them - trying to get a hold of them. He gave me their 800 number, I called and also left a message. They haven't returned my call, so I'm gonna keep calling them come Monday morning.

I have a few friends though who simply put a pole in the ground and moved/mounted their Directv dish to there. One buddy has his on a 8 ft 4 by 4 wood post in the ground. Said it works fine.

JaxRed
11-25-2007, 05:38 PM
You have to have the HD-DVR to do the on-demand. It has to record somewhere. (on a related note, why in the world would someone NOT get the DVR?)

I have a cable/modem wireless conection but I use ethernet into the router for the DVR (intentionally assured cable connection would be close to the DVR)

At the present time, no HD on the On_Demand (but it's still in beta)

GAC
11-25-2007, 08:50 PM
(on a related note, why in the world would someone NOT get the DVR?)

Having to pay $200 for the darn thing, and the fact that my wife and I don't really watch a lot of TV, or are "hooked" on particular shows/series that require a need to tape them.


I have a cable/modem wireless conection but I use ethernet into the router for the DVR (intentionally assured cable connection would be close to the DVR)

But can I go wireless? Do I have to run an ethernet cable from my modem (router) to the DVR?

KYRedsFan
11-26-2007, 06:11 PM
Having to pay $200 for the darn thing, and the fact that my wife and I don't really watch a lot of TV, or are "hooked" on particular shows/series that require a need to tape them.



But can I go wireless? Do I have to run an ethernet cable from my modem (router) to the DVR?

No need to go wired. There are about 8-10 wireless bridges/access points, that are usable for the DVR. I'm using a netgear wireless print server and it was very easy to do after being frustrated with some other products.

GAC
11-27-2007, 09:33 PM
I just informed my cable company today that I was leaving them, and gave them a cut-off date. They wanted to know why, and what they could do to keep me? I told them they could go all digital, increase their channel lineup, add the Big Ten Network, ESPN Classics, On Demand services, cut $50/month off my bill (which is what I am saving with Directv), and add HD. :lol:

That shut him up. :lol:

BuckWoody
11-27-2007, 09:46 PM
No need to go wired. There are about 8-10 wireless bridges/access points, that are usable for the DVR. I'm using a netgear wireless print server and it was very easy to do after being frustrated with some other products.
That sounds great, KYRedsFan. I have a HR20 in my basement but my router is up on the second floor with no practical way to wire them together. Can you elaborate a little bit about what you did to hook up the DVR to the network wirelessly, or give a link? I'd love to get mine linked up.

RBA
11-27-2007, 11:18 PM
That sounds great, KYRedsFan. I have a HR20 in my basement but my router is up on the second floor with no practical way to wire them together. Can you elaborate a little bit about what you did to hook up the DVR to the network wirelessly, or give a link? I'd love to get mine linked up.


I'm using these http://image.ak.outpost.com/art/product/box_shots/4901701.box.GIF http://shop2.outpost.com/product/4901701;jsessionid=9zh7+Tk6W8Qwtp6epSWtRQ**.node2? site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

However, I have Frys less than 2 miles from my house and they are currently on sale in store at $19.99 a piece. You need two. One that goes from your router into your wall outlet and the other one from the wall outlet to your DVR. Very simple to use.

BuckWoody
11-28-2007, 08:51 AM
Thanks RBA, I'll have to look into that. :thumbup: Of course then there's the problem of trying to find on open outlet near my TV and my computer. I've got those bad boys stuffed pretty full right now. :(

durl
11-28-2007, 09:25 AM
No need to go wired. There are about 8-10 wireless bridges/access points, that are usable for the DVR. I'm using a netgear wireless print server and it was very easy to do after being frustrated with some other products.

Quick question for you. I'm getting a Netgear wireless print server for Christmas so I can network my HD-DVR. I've read some articles and posts from users that claim it's a little difficult to set up. How long did it take you to get it working?

I chose the Netgear print server (and it's 4 ports) over a gaming adapter because I also want to connect a SlingBox and my PS2 to the network.

GAC
12-04-2007, 07:42 AM
They came out yesterday and installed Directv. I thought I'd get back because Yachtzee wanted to know more about the tripod.

It seems I got some misinformation from the Directv reps I talked to about the tripods. The last one I talked to finally set it straight. It depends on who does the installation, and not all use a tripod. Some may, but Skylink by Directv did my installation, and they used a 2" diameter pole installed with about 5 foot above the ground to mount the dish on. They did a very professional job, and it was totally free.

I had the coaxial wiring already internally installed within my house when I built it last year, and they were able to utilize that.

I don't have a phone line accessible to be attached; but it's not necessary. I'm gonna quit listening to Steel SD ;) ..... I went out, on his recommendation, and bought one of those wireless phone jacks (Magnavox) which is suppose to utilize your wall AC wiring and allow you to put a phone jack at other locations. It's about 8 feet from the base unit to the remote (kitchen to living room), and yet the stupid thing won't read the signal. It works fine if I put it in the same room as the base unit with no obstructions (wall).

No big deal. It's primarily used for PPV (billing purposes) and if you use caller I.D. But I found out that if you want to order a PPV movie, and utilize your remote control or phone, they put a service charge on top of the movie fee. If you order it through their website then there is no fee.

Overall I'm quite impressed. Solid picture quality, and far greater channel selection as compared to what I was getting from my cable company. And I love the wide selection of sports channels - NFL and Big Ten Network, as well as getting the NFL Sunday Ticket free the remainder of the year.

RBA
12-04-2007, 09:38 AM
You can also just get a long phoneline and only plug it in when you order something for the few minutes that are needed. I just use the website, that way all my receivers get the PPV event/movie.