PDA

View Full Version : Education

TeamSelig
12-16-2007, 03:33 PM
I'm doing the student thing, and its not so bad. I'm thinking about going ahead and getting my Masters degree. I think it would be worth the hassle of continuing the student life.

Anyways, how far have you gone? For the most part this is a really intelligent board (especially compared to other forums), and I was curious to see how far alot of you have gone?

Edit - I have my two year degree, finishing up my bachelors ATM.

joshnky
12-16-2007, 03:39 PM
Depending on the monetary situation I would get the masters. IMO, a master's is becoming increasingly essential to compete for top jobs in business. I just completed a second masters (MBA) which worked out well because my employer paid for everything. Because graduate programs are very expensive, I would recommend getting on with a company that does tuition reimbursement (many do) and work on the master's through that route.

Joseph
12-16-2007, 05:21 PM
I've got the 4 year deal, but also have considerable additional class work and training courses as well.

If you can get the MBA, go for it. The 4 year degree in this day and age is like the high school diploma was 25 years ago. IE its expected, and you need something to set you apart.

HumnHilghtFreel
12-16-2007, 05:52 PM
I'm currently in school, going for a 2 year degree(AA) and seeing where I go from there. I like to think I'm a fairly intelligent person, but the whole school thing isn't for me. I get bored very easily, but I realize that more than likely... I'm going to need it at some point.

westofyou
12-16-2007, 06:02 PM
I've got the 4 year deal, but also have considerable additional class work and training courses as well.

If you can get the MBA, go for it. The 4 year degree in this day and age is like the high school diploma was 25 years ago. IE its expected, and you need something to set you apart.

Not 25... more like 50.. but point taken, MBA's get a bigger piece of the corporate pie.