PDA

View Full Version : Bandwidth Help



GoReds33
03-06-2008, 07:47 PM
I have Zoomtown here at home. I also have access to ESPN360.com. I like watching stuff on there, and recently have begun watching alot. Well now my computer doesn't have the bandwidth to do it. I don't know how this happened, or why. In the past it's just been a spyware thing that I could test for and block. I've tested my bandwidth and it's around 400Kbps. It usto be quite a bit higher.

Is there anything I can do to raise my bandwidth, or is it my connection?

Thanks for the help.:)

Revering4Blue
03-06-2008, 08:06 PM
If you have an Instant messageing service, Outlook or Thunderbird or Weatherbug running in the background, shut them down. Sometimes it is a Physical memory problem. Try shutting down everything except the browser, Firewall and antivurus/anti-spyware programs. It works for Me.

GoReds33
03-06-2008, 08:13 PM
If you have an Instant messageing service, Outlook or Thunderbird or Weatherbug running in the background, shut them down. Sometimes it is a Physical memory problem. Try shutting down everything except the browser, Firewall and antivurus/anti-spyware programs. It works for Me.I just turned off a couple things. For whatever reason I can't get this stupid Windows security thing to go away. Also, I can't get this AOL thing to go away. I haven't had AOL for a year.

Revering4Blue
03-06-2008, 08:25 PM
I just turned off a couple things. For whatever reason I can't get this stupid Windows security thing to go away. Also, I can't get this AOL thing to go away. I haven't had AOL for a year.

Ctrl+Alt+Delete at the same time brings up the task manager.

Click Processess.

Anything with AOL attached to it, you can end manually by right clicking on the one you'd like to end and clicking end process.

The security thing most likely doesn't use much bandwith, so i wouldn't worry about it.

GoReds33
03-06-2008, 08:34 PM
Ctrl+Alt+Delete at the same time brings up the task manager.

Click Processess.

Anything with AOL attached to it, you can end manually by right clicking on the one you'd like to end and clicking end process.

The security thing most likely doesn't use much bandwith, so i wouldn't worry about it.Thanks. That did boost it by about 50. I'm beginning to think it's a bad connection. I'm going to try to find something to check that, and if all else fails call the company. My house needs to be rewired anyway.

Tonight I'm going to run an extensive test. I don't think it's a virus or spyware, because it didn't come up in the short test. I don't have a good spyware tester either.

Revering4Blue
03-06-2008, 08:38 PM
Here's a good free spyware tester. http://http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/free

Good luck.

GoReds33
03-06-2008, 08:41 PM
Here's a good free spyware tester. http://http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/free

Good luck.The link doesn't work.

Revering4Blue
03-06-2008, 08:47 PM
The link doesn't work.

Try this.
http://http://www.freewarefiles.com/A-squared-Free-V_program_18231.html


If this doesn't work, Google "A-squared free"

GoReds33
03-06-2008, 08:52 PM
Try this.
http://http://www.freewarefiles.com/A-squared-Free-V_program_18231.html


If this doesn't work, Google "A-squared free"Thanks. The link didn't work, but the google search did. I really hope this works. I'll post how it goes.:)

Unassisted
03-06-2008, 10:38 PM
You should make sure that you're not running P2P software on your connection when you do your bandwidth tests, because it can really eat up a lot of bandwidth. It could be that your network neighbors are consuming more bandwidth by using P2P software on the node you're sharing with them.