PDA

View Full Version : Any baseball coaches out there?

Playadlc
04-12-2008, 10:28 PM
I am a new assistant coach at a local high school here in Indiana. I have been having a hard time breaking some of the hitting problems I see with some of our kids.

The main problem I am seeing with our players at the plate right now is that they were all taught a linear type swing. Everything is all hands (not using the body) with a very downward swing plane. While this swing can work at times, I don't believe it is the optimal way to hit. I am a big believer in a rotational style swing. Leading with the hips, using the entire body and swinging in a circular plane (armpit to armpit), like a pendulum.

Now I am relatively new to the rotational type swing and I am still learning. I was not taught to hit this way when I was in high school or college, so I just simply had to study this stuff on my own.

What are some coaching cues, drills, anything that will help them understand the rotational type swing better? I feel like I understand the swing, but I am not presenting in the most optimal way. Basically I am trying to create a system, and I am not sure really where to start.

I know this is kind of off the wall, but any advice on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

captainmorgan07
04-12-2008, 11:09 PM
This worked for me my senior year in high school try having the whole rotation broken down into steps.

Step 1: Make sure their taking the correct step forward with their front foot, at the same time moving their hands back.

Step 2: Rotate the hips which starts to bring the bat foward.

Step 3: The swing and making sure the front leg does not collapse and emphasize a 2handed follow thru.