PDA

View Full Version : anyone willing to grade the 2008 Draft???

icehole3
06-07-2008, 10:57 AM
I'm by no means an expert and I pretty much depend on you guys Doug Dirt, OBM, WV Red, MarioRijo you guys do a great job posting good sound info, I was just wondering if you guys feel as good as I do about the draft? Ive been praying that the Reds would draft pitchers in the first 5 rounds and then draft the best power hitters they could find, so Im tickled pink and have absolutely no complaints. Every year I would like the early round focus to be on good solid pitching and then power hitters and I dont care what position they play because if a guy can slug teams will either want that guy in a trade or you can find a spot for him. So of course just looking at the top 10 picks (4 out of first 6 pitchers) I give this team an A+.

http://www.sternfannetwork.com/forum/images/smilies/Big/bigthumbup.gif

dougdirt
06-07-2008, 02:01 PM
I am not thrilled so much about the middle rounds, but if they can sign two of the high school pitchers they took between rounds 15 and 50, it would get a significant upgrade. Again though, its too early to give it much of a grade because it all depends on who signs.

RedlegJake
06-07-2008, 02:17 PM
IMO, the draft isn't over until Aug 15th when we see who actually signed. I agree with Doug that the draft could be pretty strong if they sign some of the later round fliers like Peterson. Realistically, I don't see the Reds offering much over slot money, though so I'm not real hopeful there.

Mario-Rijo
06-07-2008, 02:22 PM
It's early like DD said but even more than that the Reds have a proclivity for drafting somewhat seldom used arms (i.e. fresh arms) so they are usually tough to gauge until they have had some time in the system.