PDA

View Full Version : How would you rebuild this team?

ChatterRed
07-05-2008, 01:45 AM
Seeing how Griffey and Dunn will not be here next year, either by trade or just being allowed to walk, the Reds will need 2 more starting outfielders to go with Jay Bruce next year. Are you comfortable enough with Hairston? With Freel? Do you move Votto to LF and feel comfortable with him there? Who would then play 1B? What to do about SS since Gonzalez is most likely out?

Here are the positions that are a lock:

2B - Brandon Phillips (RH) (current age 28)
3B - Edwin Encarnacion (RH) (age 25)
RF - Jay Bruce (LH) (age 21)
SS - plenty of options or do you go get someone else?
1B - Votto or someone else?

Where to play them or do you keep them?:
(LH) - Joey Votto (1B or LF?) (age 24)
(RH) - Jeff Keppinger (1B, SS, 3B, or OF?) (age 28)
(RH) - Jerry Hairston (SS, 3B, CF?) (age 32)
(RH) - Andy Phillips (Utility guy?) (age 31)
(LH) - Corey Patterson (OF) (will be 29 in a month)
(RH) - Ryan Freel (OF) (age 32) - currently on DL
(RH) - Norris Hopper (OF) (age 29) - season ending surgery
(RH) - Jolbert Cabrera (SS - Utility man) (age 36) - currently on DL
(RH) - Paul Janish (SS - Utility Man) (age 25) - Triple AAA
(LH) - Chris Dickerson (OF) (age 26) - Triple AAA
(LH) - Rob Mackowiak (OF) (age 32) - Triple AAA

Catchers?
(LH) Paul Bako (36)
(RH) David Ross (31)
(SH) Javier Valentin (32)
(RH) Ryan Hannigan (27) - Triple AAA
(RH) Alvin Colina (26) - Triple AAA

Gone?
(LH) Adam Dunn (LF) (28)
(LH) Ken Griffey Jr. (RF) (will be 39 in November)
(RH) Alex Gonzalez - (SS) (season ending surgery - 1 year rehab atleast - most likely will not play in '09)

Starting Pitching:
(RH) Aaron Harang (30)
(RH) Bronson Arroyo (31)
(RH) Johnny Cueto (22)
(RH) Edinson Volquez (25 as of yesterday)
(RH) Homer Bailey (22) - Triple AAA
(RH) Matt Belisle (28) - Triple AAA
(RH) Darryl Thompson (22) - Triple AAA
(LH) Matt Maloney (24) - Triple AAA
(RH) Josh Fogg (31) - Triple AAA