PDA

View Full Version : Argh! I hate Microsoft Vista! My scanner won't work!



redsmetz
07-26-2008, 04:40 PM
We got a new computer with Windows Vista (Home something or other) and my HP 3150 printer/scanner prints, but it won't scan. It says "an error occurred communicating with your scanning device" and then something about checking to make sure it's connected right. It's connected because the printer works. I've download the most current driver, but I still can't get the darn thing to work. The HP is so complicated, I can't figure out what it wants me to do (I get so tired of HP and Microsoft never talking to each other!).

I've got several programs on my old hard drive that won't work now on Vista. It's maddening. Did I say I don't like Vista?

Anyone else had this problem and know of a fix?

Buckeye33
07-26-2008, 05:40 PM
Vista is the devil. HORRIBLE! Sorry, I did not use Vista long enough to be familiar with it.

Caseyfan21
07-26-2008, 07:00 PM
My old printer wouldn't work with Vista when I got a new computer a few weeks ago. I kept downloading different drivers and fixes off websites but I couldn't get it to work. I was about to buy a new printer but then one randomly worked. It was weird.

KronoRed
07-26-2008, 08:16 PM
Vista is evil, I don't think that can be said enough ;)

I would suggest searching the HP resource forums for help, chances are someone else has had this trouble as well.
http://forums11.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/home.do?admit=109447626+1217117769296+28353475

KoryMac5
07-26-2008, 08:21 PM
The only problem so far with Vista has been my old reliable Lexmark printer wouldn't work with it. Bought a new HP and have been running smooth ever since. Knock on wood no problems to report.

Coffeybro
07-27-2008, 10:19 AM
I hate to say it but its not Vista's fault. Its the fault of the product's supplier. They are the ones responsible for creating drivers that make hardware work with operating systems. Same thing happened for my printer. HP stated on its website that it will not be making a driver for my printer for vista.

redsmetz
07-27-2008, 01:56 PM
I hate to say it but its not Vista's fault. Its the fault of the product's supplier. They are the ones responsible for creating drivers that make hardware work with operating systems. Same thing happened for my printer. HP stated on its website that it will not be making a driver for my printer for vista.

Yeah, that's what I finally came up with. I've had this issue with HP and Microsoft before. Perhaps HP will learn when the next time I buy a printer, I buy someone else's. From the link on HP for help, there were months of folks pleading with HP to get something available.

Some industrious folks have posted some fixes, but they seem complex and beyond my meager skills, but I'll probably have to take about an hour to work through them.

And I'll take the time to tell HP I'm through with them - although I can't say it will do any good. I now have a printer/scanner at home that is only a printer. I'll have to do my scanning down at work. Argh!

Thanks everyone.

*BaseClogger*
07-27-2008, 03:51 PM
Yeah, my HP printer won't print images or graphs because of Vista. Go figure! :(

pahster
07-27-2008, 03:53 PM
Get XP. :p:

oneupper
07-27-2008, 06:41 PM
I'd say "Get a Mac"...but no, Macs are not immune to this sort of stuff either.
My Epson CX5200 ceased in its scanning functions when I upgraded to a faster Intel-based Mac.
It's Epson's fault. They upgraded the print drivers but not the scanning "drivers".

With Multifunction printer prices below $100 in many cases, we can't expect them to put much effort into this. It's a shame, I hate having to discard stuff that really could work.

KronoRed
07-27-2008, 08:19 PM
Sometimes I wonder if the OS makers help out the hardware guys by making things different in just enough ways to force new purchases.

OldRightHander
07-27-2008, 11:13 PM
We have two HP multi-function printers, one for our Mac and one for the PC. I'm running Vista on the PC (laptop in the van) and I have an HP F4100 that I got for $70 and it works just fine. I use it for scanning documents to fax to shippers and brokers. The printer is fairly new though. I haven't tried to hook the older one up to the PC.

I used to use Epson printers on the Mac and I also had problems with the drivers. I think it's an Epson thing.

CTA513
07-27-2008, 11:21 PM
The only problem I had with Vista is that my old scanner wouldn't work with it and CanoScan wasn't going to make a new driver for it.

jmcclain19
07-28-2008, 02:13 AM
I had a two year old HP printer and a two year old Lacie External Hard Drive that I had to go fetch drivers on before they would work with Vista.

Otherwise I love Vista - I don't get the griping about it and enjoy the new perks and features.

redsmetz
07-28-2008, 01:22 PM
I had a two year old HP printer and a two year old Lacie External Hard Drive that I had to go fetch drivers on before they would work with Vista.

Otherwise I love Vista - I don't get the griping about it and enjoy the new perks and features.

What drivers did you get? I've gone to HP's driver section and downloaded them and the scanner still doesn't work. I keep reading that HP will not be making an updated driver and I just bought this scanner last year.

jmcclain19
07-29-2008, 12:39 AM
I did a google search for my HP printer the 2610xi with the word vista driver in the title and it took me right to the page. It was the complete install CD.

The only thing I can think of is if you have the wrong bit (32 v 64) Vista driver which I have noticed can cause errors.