PDA

View Full Version : Free Software for 2 computer operation



JaxRed
08-24-2008, 01:49 AM
I don't know how many people have this situation but I have 2 computers in my "man room". Just ran across a free piece of software called Synergy that allow you to operate both computers with the same keyboard and mouse without using any switch.

They have to be networked and they can be any operating system.

JaxRed
06-28-2010, 02:51 PM
This thread got no love, but you never know when someone has this situation. Since the people that made Synergy stopped updating it, some other people have picked up the torch and there is now a Synergy+.

pedro
06-28-2010, 03:03 PM
hmmmm, can they share a monitor?

JaxRed
06-28-2010, 03:29 PM
Nope different scenario. This shares one keybord and mouse seamlessly. I have one standard computer setup, and then another computer hooked up to widescreen. I control it from main setup.

pedro
06-28-2010, 03:34 PM
Nope different scenario. This shares one keybord and mouse seamlessly. I have one standard computer setup, and then another computer hooked up to widescreen. I control it from main setup.

Any reason why it wouldn't work with a monitor switch box?

Roy Tucker
06-28-2010, 03:58 PM
I use TightVNC, http://www.tightvnc.com

We have an old PC at home that is on its way out the door. I ditched the monitor (big honker 19" tube), keyboard, and mouse and use TightVNC to access the old PC desktop (its WinXP).

Used Real VNC in a previous job which works off the same code base. Rock solid implementation.

yab1112
06-28-2010, 03:59 PM
This thread got no love, but you never know when someone has this situation. Since the people that made Synergy stopped updating it, some other people have picked up the torch and there is now a Synergy+.

Just saw this thread for the first time. I can absolutely use this. Thanks Jax :thumbup:

pedro
06-28-2010, 04:18 PM
I use TightVNC, http://www.tightvnc.com

We have an old PC at home that is on its way out the door. I ditched the monitor (big honker 19" tube), keyboard, and mouse and use TightVNC to access the old PC desktop (its WinXP).

Used Real VNC in a previous job which works off the same code base. Rock solid implementation.

funny, I use Real VNC for work and it just never dawned on me.

JaxRed
09-12-2011, 08:55 PM
I'm kind of a One Man Band (Three Dog Night) on this topic. But Microsoft released a free version of this that is much slicker and easier to use. I've switched.

As you might suspect, all computers need to be running Windows

http://www.engadget.com/2011/09/12/microsofts-mouse-without-borders-the-kvm-that-killed-the-kvm/