PDA

View Full Version : Should I have a problem with this?

Playadlc
03-20-2009, 02:34 AM
I feel like I am making posts like this too often here, but I really respect the way people on this board think. So I am seeking some more advice from you guys. If this post is in the wrong place, please move.

Here is the situation....

I am an assistant coach for a local high school baseball team. We are a very small school with only about 150 students in the high school and with so many sports and so few students we only have about 11-15 kids a year come out for baseball.

I have always encouraged our players to play as many sports as they want to. Especially in their freshmen and sophomore years because with a lot of kids you never know what they are going to be best at, so why put all your eggs in one basket? Well, our basketball coach thinks differently....

We were having practice yesterday and the basketball coach ran into one of our players in the hallway when he was getting a drink. This kid plays both basketball and baseball. The basketball coach asked the kid if he was going to be at practice next week. Now, I am not really sure why they are having basketball practice two weeks after being eliminated from the sectional, but whatever....the kid tells him (paraphrasing) "No, I am not going to be there because we have just started baseball and I am going to be at baseball practice." The basketball coach then tells him, "Well, you are going to get behind in basketball and get passed up by someone else". Basically trying to make the kid feel like crap for playing baseball.

I find this ridiculous. It pisses me off because this kid has a chance to play college baseball somewhere, and this coach is pressuring him to only play basketball. He is not looking out for the best interest of the kid.