PDA

View Full Version : No save for Cordero... lol



GIDP
08-28-2009, 11:20 PM
Francisco Cordero was not awarded a save. The rule says if you pitch less than one full inning, the tying run must be on deck when you ended.

I didn't know about the rule. Neither did anyone else in the press box. Dusty Baker thought it was a save situation as well. It was the fifth straight game Cordero pitched in. He had not done that since July of last year.

:bowrofl:

I didnt know the rule either but I'm glad our manager did. :laugh:

BigPoppa
08-30-2009, 12:21 AM
Save situation, dude. Bigtime.

texasdave
08-31-2009, 11:36 AM
Does anyone know Dusty's email? I want to send him this handy dandy save guide:


(a) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his team;
(b) He is not the winning pitcher;
(c) He is credited with at least a third of an inning pitched; and
(d) He satisfies one of the following conditions:
(1) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning;
(2) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batters he faces); or
(3) He pitches for at least three innings.

Honestly, a save or not a save? Who cares? When I look at the standings in the paper only wins and losses are shown - not saves. I guess that is only important at contract time. Every time Dusty hands the ball to Coco he should tell him it is a save situation. Because in non-save situations Coco doesn't seem to pitch as well.

flash
08-31-2009, 07:26 PM
I knew the rule, and I thought everyone did. It is pretty simple. If the tying run will come to the plate before it is possible to end the game via consecutive outs then the pitcher gets the save. If not, he doesn't.I was surprised Dusty even brought him in. The Dodgers were three runs down with two remaining outs. The only way the tying run could come to the plate was if Cordero put a man on. A relief pitcher can't create his own save.

If Dusty didn't know that I am really surprised. Not knowing in the press box is even more of a surprise.