PDA

View Full Version : Hey, batter, batter: Heisey, Frazier bring some chatter (From Cincinnati Enquirer)

OnBaseMachine
02-06-2010, 11:45 PM
Hey, batter, batter: Heisey, Frazier bring some chatter
By John Erardi jerardi@enquirer.com February 6, 2010

Among the most in-demand attractions on the recent Reds caravan were youngsters Chris Heisey, who is in the mix for the left-feld job, and Todd Frazier, who could be in that mix as well.

The Enquirer caught up with them at the Reds Hall of Fame on the kickoff portiion of the tour and asked them to give a state-of-the-union on themselves and how they think things are lgoing headed into the new season.

We present their stories as oral histories.

Chris Heisey

I grew up in real small town called Mount Joy, Pa., just outside of Lancaster. Nice small town, lot of countryside. I started playing baseball in the backyard at two or three years old, and by 6I was playing organized baseball.

Basketball was actually my favorite sport in high school. I went to Messiah College, intending to play both baseball and basketball, but once I got there I wanted to really concentrate on my studies, so I figured one sport was enough for me, and I chose baseball.

I'm an outfielder now, but I'd been a shortstop and pitcher my whole life. like a lot of guys at this level who wind up playing the outfield. My junior year we had a shortstop who my coach thought was better than me, so he put me in the outfield, and ever since then, that's where I've been. Sometimes it gets real boring oit there - I like to be moving around - but only one guy can play shortstop, right?

We're doing a lot of bus time on this caravan. My longest bus trip in the minors was Billings, Mont., to Ogden, Utah, a 12-hour bus ride.

On the bus, my game is cards. A lot of guys watch movies or sleep, but I've never been able to sleep on the bus, unless it's late at night. If I'm not in a card game, I start another card game. just to have something to do.