PDA

View Full Version : problems viewing RZ on mobile devices?



Yachtzee
06-12-2010, 03:19 PM
Anyone else having problems with using Redszone on a mobile device where touching anywhere on the page activates the link to the amazon.com ad? It seems like whenever I try to touch another link, I'm sent to amazon.com.

jimbo
06-12-2010, 04:36 PM
Anyone else having problems with using Redszone on a mobile device where touching anywhere on the page activates the link to the amazon.com ad? It seems like whenever I try to touch another link, I'm sent to amazon.com.

Yep, been having the same problem on my Droid. It usually does it to me when I am trying to access the next page of a thread.

Yachtzee
06-12-2010, 05:33 PM
Yep, been having the same problem on my Droid. It usually does it to me when I am trying to access the next page of a thread.

Yes. The link area is so small you either have to be lucky or zoom way in. It seems like the amazon link is a background link for the entire page.

wolfboy
06-14-2010, 02:50 PM
I have the same issue on my Droid.

Boss-Hog
06-14-2010, 05:47 PM
I'll look into it and see what I can find out. Thanks for letting me know.

1990REDS
06-15-2010, 06:43 PM
I noticed for me it does it when i try to go to the next page. One thing i do is select the page number at the top of the posts and not the bottom ones. Still a pain but not as much as contantly going to amazon.

RedsManRick
06-16-2010, 01:09 AM
I've had the same Amazone issue others have mentioned on my iphone. However, I recently picked up the tapatalk app and the site runs like a dream on there.

Boss-Hog
06-16-2010, 06:48 PM
I don't have a Droid (yet, anyway), so I can't test any changes I make, so you guys will have to help me out in that regard. Below is the section of our code that displays the Amazon link - I'm far from an expert on programming, but I don't see anything blatantly obvious that stands out that would cause this problem. Hopefully, someone more knowledgeable in this area sees what's causing the problem and can recommend a solution:


<center><a href="http://www.redszone.com/forums/payments.php">Turn off ads?</a></center>
<br>
<iframe src="http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=reds00-20&o=1&p=29&l=ur1&category=amazonvideoondemand&banner=1EW444ZV1R0FCXH8MJ82&f=ifr" width="120" height="600" scrolling="no" border="0" marginwidth="0" style="border:none;" frameborder="0"></iframe>

RedsManRick
06-16-2010, 09:34 PM
Boss, could you post the code for another add or two for the sake of comparison?

Boss-Hog
06-16-2010, 09:41 PM
The other ads are built in to a custom addon we have installed, so it doesn't really display the code like with Amazon.

Boss-Hog
06-17-2010, 05:44 PM
I removed the Amazon ad, so that should resolve this problem.

Reds4Life
06-20-2010, 01:51 PM
It must have been a Droid or iPhone thing, I read the site daily only Blackberry and never had an issue. Used the standard Blackberry browser, as well as Bolt for BB.

1990REDS
06-22-2010, 11:07 AM
I removed the Amazon ad, so that should resolve this problem.

Thanks for removing the add. It works like a dream for me now.