PDA

View Full Version : Whats wrong with Lincecum?

kaldaniels
08-28-2010, 01:38 PM
5 straight losses. Is it nothing to worry about (for the Giants) or is it something? I'm aware of the decreased velocity on his fastball, but is there more to it than that...how will this story end? Suffice it to say, his mechanics have seemed questionable to me...but I'm no expert. Run with this question however you want it...I'm curious.

PuffyPig
08-28-2010, 01:50 PM
It's been talked about for awhile, his velocity is down into the low 90's.

LoganBuck
08-28-2010, 02:11 PM
The fact that he isn't Drew Stubbs. :lol:

traderumor
08-28-2010, 03:19 PM
Complicated windup and power pitcher smell like injury to me. Time for his first TJ?

VR
08-28-2010, 03:21 PM
Were there juice rumors at one time w/ him?

Tornon
08-28-2010, 03:23 PM
Were there juice rumors at one time w/ him?

No juice, just weed

Az Red
08-28-2010, 04:57 PM
Talking w/ a Giants fan friend, was told how strange it was that Lincecum went from 90+ mph to almost 100. Now suddenly back down...

Friends opinion was Lincecum was getting too full of himself.

Spitball
08-28-2010, 08:24 PM
A lot of people seemed to accept his mechanics, but there have to be some doubts about his future. His delivery is explosive, and that alone has to create some worry.

What really concerns me is the angle of his arm as he launches forward. He holds the ball very high and whips it from an extreme bend in his elbow. His arm is unraveling from the bend while his body is thrusting violently forward.

Because of shoulder and elbow stress, we don't usually see pitchers go as high in the air with their arms as they are about to go forward in their delivery. Of course there are some, but the risk of injury makes that mechanical action a risk.

BCubb2003
08-28-2010, 09:52 PM
Didn't they make commercials about how innovative his delivery is? Something about putting a dollar bill on the ground?

Marc D
08-28-2010, 10:28 PM