PDA

View Full Version : Has Redszone ever considered a tech/geek forum?

The Operator
02-11-2011, 08:19 AM
I mean no offense by the term "geek" by the way, because I absolutely am a major geek.

But anyway, I've thought for a while now that it would be cool if Redszone had a forum specifically for people to talk about science, technology, engineering, anything related to that really.

I'm a soon-to-be engineer and I know there are many other engineers on the board, as well as chemists, physicists, computer gurus, and also just tech buffs through experience.

I know the Non-Sports forum does provide a platform for these types of discussion, but most if not all of the discussion in that forum are related to music, movies or TV.

I know more than once I've been in the middle of trying to figure out how to accomplish a circuit design, or have just been thinking theoretically about certain things, and would love to pose questions on here to get feedback from other 'zoners. I've just been afraid a topic like that would quickly be buried in the Non-Sports forum.

Is this idea at all realistic?

Redsfan320
02-11-2011, 08:55 AM
I don't see it as a big enough draw for its own forum, myself. If its a discussion people care about enough to post in, it will stay near the top in the Non-sports forum.

Now a sabermetrics forum (which is what I thought you meant when I saw the thread title) for all the stat-heads and such- that would be epic.

Cuban_Missile
02-11-2011, 03:32 PM
I am with The Operator on this one of course I am a younger guy in college as well. Even if it is just a sub-forum of the Non-Sports forum. I feel like it could help a lot of non-tech savvy people have questions answered by anyone with the know how. And for the rest of us techies we could discuss computers, upgrades, gaming systems, etc. I think it would be a great idea and I know other sports forums have something similar most of the time.

Joseph
02-11-2011, 04:26 PM