PDA

View Full Version : pet peeve of the day..."contract year"

GADawg
02-19-2011, 06:47 AM
i guess i'm just being naive but it drives me crazy to think some players can turn it up another notch or two during a year when they're playing for a new contract. As a fan I'd like to think these guys are putting out every year but there is some evidence of guys putting up career numbers, signing new big deals, and then not living up to expectations.

I can almost understand going through the motions if I'm a veteran playing for the Pirates in late august for example but even then i'd like to think i'd have enough pride to give 100%. While I'm on the subject the thought that big league managers, nfl coaches, etc...need to be "motivators" drives me crazy too. Again it's probably being naive but you'd think pride and a paycheck would be all the motivation these "professionals" would need.

The Operator
02-19-2011, 07:01 AM
Two of my favorite contract year performances were turned in by Adrian Beltre, circa 2004 and then 2010. Guy can turn it on when he wants to.

Eric_the_Red
02-19-2011, 08:46 AM
There have been a few studies that show the contract year theory doesn't hold water. Some play better, some worse, but we seem to only remember those that play better.

One such study from last year:
http://www.forbes.com/2010/04/13/yankees-phillies-astros-business-sports-bloomberg-baseball.html

Griffey012
02-19-2011, 08:52 AM
Two of my favorite contract year performances were turned in by Adrian Beltre, circa 2004 and then 2010. Guy can turn it on when he wants to.

What about Beltre in 2009, you left that out of the equation. It was a contract year and was his 2nd worse season in the bigs based on WAR. I am guessing he really wanted to turn it on that year.

jojo
02-19-2011, 09:40 AM