PDA

View Full Version : If you could fill 2 needs by trade this offseason, what would they be?

Vottomatic
09-14-2011, 10:41 AM
Mine would be:

1. Middle of the order right handed power/average bat.

2. A #1 or #2 type starter.

I think they'd have to trade Stubbs, Alonso, and one or two of the young pitchers to get this done. Maybe even Grandal. And Stubbs, Alonso, and Grandal are all former #1 picks, so that should count for something.

My triple A prospects/major league young player untouchables are Mez and Francisco. I think Juan is ready to take flight and Rolen has one year left on his contract.

The problem is going to be getting Dusty to platoon Francisco/Rolen at 3B.

texasdave
09-14-2011, 10:55 AM
My triple A prospects/major league young player untouchables are Mez and Francisco. I think Juan is ready to take flight and Rolen has one year left on his contract.
The problem is going to be getting Dusty to platoon Francisco/Rolen at 3B.

I was listening to Fay on the radio in the second inning and I swear he said that Rolen indicated he was feeling so good after that surgery that he is thinking about playing FIVE MORE YEARS. He said he has more range of motion than he has in years :eek:
Maybe I heard wrong. But I don't think I did.

A first-half 2010 Rolen would be huge. Righthanded power/average bat with great defense as a bonus. I'm crossing my fingers but not holding my breath.

texasdave
09-14-2011, 11:05 AM
To answer the question though, the best two starting pitchers I could get ahold of -
Greinke and Marcum style.

To paraphrase an old golfing axiom - Hit for show, pitch for dough.

brm7675
09-14-2011, 12:00 PM
I call the Dodgers and ask them what would it take to get Kemp. I would tell them everyone on the Reds Roster/organization is available except Cueto/Leake/Votto/Devin and go from there for a deal.

The DARK
09-14-2011, 12:45 PM