PDA

View Full Version : Self-Checkout

WVRed
12-12-2011, 05:44 PM
I'm kinda curious for responses on this as I currently work in retail. I personally use them all the time because I want to get in and out of places (especially Wal-Mart) as quick as humanly possible. On the other hand, there are some people who feel that U-Scan's, self-checkout, etc. take jobs away from the cashiers.

Which category do you fall into?

wolfboy
12-12-2011, 05:46 PM
It all depends. Sometimes the technology is a little lacking on the self-checkout, so I avoid it. I've never really heard the "it eliminates jobs" angle, but that doesn't really bother me.

Rojo
12-12-2011, 06:15 PM
It all depends. Sometimes the technology is a little lacking on the self-checkout, so I avoid it. I've never really heard the "it eliminates jobs" angle, but that doesn't really bother me.

It bothers me but I think its not going to do much good to fight it. Still, I prefer checkers.

SunDeck
12-12-2011, 06:29 PM
Still, I prefer checkers.

Especially when they don't look me in the eye or otherwise acknowledge that I'm a living, breathing person, as happens all too often in most grocery stores. Honestly, that drives me to self checks just as much as the convenience factor.

RonDunn95
12-12-2011, 06:31 PM
Sometimes, it really depends on the quantity.

texasdave
12-12-2011, 06:35 PM
Especially when they don't look me in the eye or otherwise acknowledge that I'm a living, breathing person, as happens all too often in most grocery stores. Honestly, that drives me to self checks just as much as the convenience factor.

+1

12-12-2011, 06:38 PM

I agree.

It's not like I'm anti-social, I just hate dealing with people. ;)

SunDeck
12-12-2011, 06:47 PM
I agree.

It's not like I'm anti-social, I just hate dealing with people. ;)

Maybe I project a creepy vibe that keeps them from interacting with me. I could believe that.

izzy's dad
12-12-2011, 07:27 PM