PDA

View Full Version : DH Scenario

corkedbat
03-09-2012, 01:04 AM
I was thinking about the DH the other day and was wondering what would happen in the following scenario:

It the 8th and the opposition has just blown the gme wide-open. Both teams are using a DH. The bullpen has been through a brutal stretch of games and the manager decides he doesn't want to waste another relief pitch behind 10 runs.

He goes to the mound and brings on the left fielder (who is due up 1st in the 9th inning) to finish the game and replaces him in LF with a reserve OFer. The question is, how will the batting order look? My guess is that the new LFer would take the spot in the lineup of the DH, but I'm not sure.

oneupper
03-09-2012, 06:35 AM
I don't think so. The LF who came to bat is now the pitcher and out of the lineup. Unless there is another switch, the new LF takes the place of the old LF (and will hit first).

The DH remains the same one it was before.

But I'm not an expert on AL baseball.

Roy Tucker
03-09-2012, 08:19 AM
I kinda sorta remembered this happening before so I looked it up:

From a game last season:

http://worldsworstsportsblog.com/tag/position-players-pitching/