PDA

View Full Version : Reds should DFA Bailey

ShaySongz
03-24-2012, 10:32 PM
Bailey is the player the Padres presumed Latos to be. He gets unraveled, mentally fatigue, frustrated and loses his cool under pressure. He is a bust wether you like to believe it or not. The only reason he's not cut because he's outta options! You can't run your franchise holding onto players that underachieve because if lack of options, waiting on potential! Cut bait Walt! Go all in with chapman

RedsfaninMT
03-25-2012, 10:21 AM
You also can't run your franchise based off Spring Training stats either. I have also been frustrated with Bailey, but he posted decent numbers overall last year. Chapman needs some time in Louisville to work on his 3rd pitch - which he evidently has not thrown this Spring.

I think the Reds have to give Bailey a few starts to see what he can do. But (!) I am no pitching expert. I am sure that Price, Walt and Dusty can tell who looks good and who doesn't and will act accordingly.

DaytonFlyer
03-25-2012, 01:25 PM
I would be ok with them packaging Bailey and Juan Francisco for something.... ANYTHING.

jhiller21
03-26-2012, 01:21 AM
Bailey hasn't turned out to be the 98 mph fireballer we all thought he would be, but his splitter and changeup are still plus pitches, and he still has a pretty sharp curve.

Give the guy 180-200 innings in 2012, and I think he'll put up a 3.80 ERA, easy.

The DARK
03-26-2012, 01:36 AM
Bailey stuggles every spring training, but that never seems to carry over into the regular season. Right now is the time for him to work on his mechanics, regardless of actual performance, so I wouldn't be judgmental about him now. Even if he were legitimately struggling, he's not worth DFAing in favor of anyone else, especially when he's got trade value.

ShaySongz
03-26-2012, 08:35 AM