PDA

View Full Version : Can you answer this??

ShaySongz
05-23-2012, 07:45 PM
What determines an organization to teach some players to learn how to switch hit? Billy Hamilton was a right handed batter, the reds made him bat and learn to swing from the left side. Why don't the Reds force more players to learn this skill?

dubc47834
05-23-2012, 07:49 PM
Some are born with it, others aren't. I doubt you can force a guy to learn it by the time they are that far along, but I'm no expert.

drowg14
05-23-2012, 08:17 PM
I'm no expert, but I would guess it might be due to hamilton's off the charts athletic ability. Someone with that much talent can probably learn things easier.

DirtyBaker
05-23-2012, 11:44 PM
For most guys it's probably hard enough to hit from one side of the plate, but that might be an interesting experiment within the rookie leagues or foreign leagues.

R_Webb18
05-24-2012, 12:09 AM
didnt realize this is possible. he must sucked from other side.

texasdave
05-24-2012, 10:47 AM
I think the reason the Reds encouraged (made) Hamilton into a switch hitter is because of his extreme speed and his lack of power. If his game is going to be based upon speed then it makes sense that it would be better for him to hit from the left side than the right side so that he could better utilize his speed.
There was a story on the tube last night about how Chipper was being made into a switch hitter. Early in his minor league career he struggled so badly from the left side that he wanted to give it up. His manager at the time said okay. Well when the folks in the Front Office found out about it they immediately fired the minor league manager and told Chipper that he would hit left handed from then on. The rest, as they say, is history.

brm7675
05-24-2012, 12:54 PM
Hitting a baseball is the toughest thing to do in sports, trying to be a switch hitter just multiplys that...

alett12
05-24-2012, 01:44 PM