PDA

View Full Version : Barry Larkin

Raisor
06-25-2012, 07:39 AM
I've been enjoying my first trip to GAB since 2010 but one thing has me completely baffled.

I did not see a single Barry Larkin shirt.

There weren't any for sale in the team store as far as I could see.

I didn't see a single fan wearing one. I did see someone wearing a Ron Gant Reds shirt. I also saw someone wearing a Bret Favre Atlanta Falcons jersey, but not a single Barry Larkin shirt.

What?

RedLegsToday
06-25-2012, 08:11 AM
You'd think the Reds would have Barry Larkin HOF shirts or something for sale this year.

Cyclone792
06-25-2012, 08:28 AM
I wore my replica Larkin jersey to Friday night's game. Of course, now that you say it, I don't really see too many other Larkin shirts/jerseys either.

OesterPoster
06-25-2012, 09:17 AM
I saw a guy wearing a #2 Alex Gonzalez shirt at the game the other day. He was a better shortstop than Larkin, right?

bucksfan2
06-25-2012, 09:26 AM
I've been enjoying my first trip to GAB since 2010 but one thing has me completely baffled.

I didn't see a single fan wearing one. I did see someone wearing a Ron Gant Reds shirt. I also saw someone wearing a Bret Favre Atlanta Falcons jersey, but not a single Barry Larkin shirt.

What?

I have one but I don't wear it often.

I have always thought that the Reds botched the end of Larkin's career. O'Brein ran him out of town if you ask me. He didn't want to bring him back as a part time player. That didn't give the Reds the opportunity to capatilize on a farewell tour of Larkin. I think that pissed Larkin off and he pretty much had no realtions with the club until Bob Cast took over.

Big Klu
06-25-2012, 10:39 AM
Have the Reds announced when they will be retiring his #11? I figure that it will be some time this season.

Benihana
06-25-2012, 11:36 AM
Have the Reds announced when they will be retiring his #11? I figure that it will be some time this season.

Was just about to ask the same question.

George Anderson