PDA

View Full Version : Inning Limit

BungleBengals
07-18-2012, 12:34 PM
I have read a few reports about Strasburg approaching his inning limit for the year. I am still relatively new to baseball and I would usually look this up, but what exactly is the Inning Limit? Is is something the MLB sets or do doctors set it?

What I am asking is, how is the limit set for a pitcher and how is it enforced? I am concerned because we have used the same five starters all year, aren't they going to approach their inning limits soon since none have had lengthy injuries and majority of their starts go into the 6th and 7th inning.

Thanks.

Moosie52
07-18-2012, 12:39 PM
The team may set a limit, mostly for younger pitchers. Mike Leake was shut down early last season.

webbbj
07-18-2012, 12:40 PM
It is a number of innings a team will set for a pitcher to not exceed for the season. Usually for younger pitchers who have not developed their arms for 30+ starts yet.

R_Webb18
07-18-2012, 12:45 PM
leake should be fine.

homer bailey is going way past his career best at this rate. But that's b/c he was always hurt. Im not sure if it's differant for him b/c he's not as young or not.

OGB
07-18-2012, 12:53 PM
Bailey and Leake may approach a number of innings that the team prefer they not exceed, but you can generally throw around fifteen to twentyfive innings more than you did in the previous year and still be ok.

Washington will shut down Strasburg if theyre smart because they could potentially mortgage the future of the best young SP in baseball by having him throw too much this year. Washington has to be focused on the big picture and not the fact that they have the best record in the NL and havent made the playoffs since moving towns.

MrRedLegger
07-18-2012, 12:56 PM