PDA

View Full Version : Visiting Fenway Park

redhawkfish
07-30-2012, 07:17 PM
A friend of mine secured tickets through his work for the Twins Red Sox games this Saturday and Suday. We have never been there or to Boston. Any Redszoners have tips on restaurants or sites to visit for us that have made the trip before? I am a history buff and plan on checking out the Freedom Trail. Thanks!

Red in Chicago
07-30-2012, 07:30 PM
For dining, go to Little Italy section. Lots of good restaurants. Mikes pastries for canoli.

Joseph
07-30-2012, 07:34 PM
I just went to Fenway a couple weeks ago. I'm far from an expert, but I will say its a really great park, even at 100 years old. Spend some time on Yawkey Way when you get there, really cool just to see the history and all the street vendors.

I did some of the Freedom Trail stuff, for a history guy you will love it. We visited the USS Constitution which is something I'd really recommend as well.

TV nostalgia....you could visit the bar Cheers was based on, its a few blocks from Fenway and just something fun to do.

Museums all over the place there if you like that sort of thing.

I'd recommend going to Harvard Square as well. It's not too far from Fenway, but not really a walking destination, probably need a cab for this journey. Great old buildings, and really just beautiful to see.

Lots of great little cafes and coffee shops near here as well. In fact I'd recommend Legal Seafood if you want to try a lobster roll, its a couple blocks from Harvard Square and really great. If you like old record stores there's also one close by called Armageddon Records.

Thats just a couple things I was able to see/do when I was there. Fenway really is the highlight of it all. I hope you are staying close by so you can walk to Fenway past BU and all the great downtown area.

Benihana
07-30-2012, 09:13 PM
For dining, go to Little Italy section. Lots of good restaurants. Mikes pastries for canoli.