View Full Version : Question about double switching

08-04-2012, 11:22 PM
I know this was often a topic of complaints on Sundeck but I don't know about here....can someone tell me if I am missing something on what happened tonight?

I can't figure out any reason why a double switch was helpful after the 6th inning. 2B Valdez had just hit. P Leake was up next. With Leake being replaced by Marshall, Dusty double switched and put Cairo in the 9 hole (Leake's spot) and Marshall in the 8 hole (Valdez's spot). Well...unless you are leaving Marshall in for more than one inning, there was no danger of him hitting in the 9 hole anyway. HE WAS ABSOLUTELY NOT GOING TO HIT AND WAS NOT GOING TO PITCH IN THE 8TH INNING. With that being the case, you could have just left Valdez in the 8 hole and pinch hit Cairo for Marshall in the bottom of the inning. Saving a field position player in a possible extra inning game.

Can anyone explain why a double switch was helpful there?

08-04-2012, 11:24 PM
I asked the same question in the game thread, it was very bizarre to me.

08-04-2012, 11:24 PM
Raisor's most important rule regarding double switching. Don't let the wife know.

Is Raisor right? Or is Raisor right?

08-04-2012, 11:28 PM
Hebroncougar thinks it might have been because another pitcher might have been needed had Marshall had trouble that inning. Or maybe Dusty knew Cairo had a heck of a defensive play coming his way.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2

Tom Servo
08-04-2012, 11:29 PM
Servo says maybe Dusty thought Valdez wasn't feeling right with his stiff neck?

08-05-2012, 12:00 AM
Servo says maybe Dusty thought Valdez wasn't feeling right with his stiff neck?

This is the most logical answer

08-05-2012, 12:17 AM
It's possible Marshall might go more than one inning. That's the only (usual) valid reason. Even if Marshall was replaced by Broxton with two outs, you could simply have done the swith then.

I'm guessing Baker wanted to get Valdez out.