Re: Question on Fielder's Choice Rule
If the official scorer believes that the hitter would have beaten the throw to first it's a base hit all the way. It's only a fielder's choice when the fielder attempts to throw out a runner when he could have gotten the guy at first.
There's nothing unfair about a batter going 0-1 on a play where he could have been easily thrown out.
You'll often see a base hit awarded on a ball hit deep into the hole when the only play that the SS can make is to 2nd. If he's unsuccessful in making the out at 2nd, a basehit will be awarded if the official scorer doesn't believe there was a viable play at first.