Originally Posted by Far East
I posed this question on the "Narron let me down tonight!!" thread, but have seen no response there so I thought I'd ask it anew.
I'm curious about the scoring Monday on Conine's infield fly rule call by the ump.
According to Yahoo Sports, Conine (in the box score) was 0 for 3, no RBI:"Bot 6th: Cincinnati- J. Conine popped out to shallow center, R. Freel scored, B. Phillips to third, A. Dunn to second." Shouldn't Connine have gotten an RBI?
What if the Brewer second baseman had actually caught the ball (without the infield fly rule being called) over the shoulder, sprinting into the outfield and all runners and Freel had tagged up and scored. That would have been a sac fly for Conine, right?
I believe that would be correct. And the runners would have to wait until the fielder caught the ball to advance. Otherwise they could get a head start going to the next base.