Re: Homer's Balk
I just went back and watched it again. It was the top of the 4th with 2 outs. Homer had just walked Barfield after running the count full. As Rouse, the shortstop, slowly walked to the plate, both the umpire and Ross were looking in the direction of the Indians dugout. Right as Rouse put his left foot in the batters box (he bats left-handed), Homer walked up to the rubber in the windup position, which of course a pitcher would not normally do with a man on first base. Homer then stepped off the rubber with his left foot, which is a balk when a right-handed pitcher does that (he can only step off with his right foot, and then only towards second base or towards third).
Now, as for whether time was still called or not, I don't know. I have the same question you do: When a batter walks from the on deck circle to the batters box, is time called? And, if so, when does play begin again? As soon as the batter puts one foot into the batters box? Does anyone know?