Originally Posted by RedFanAlways1966
Exactly. 2 wrongs do not make a right. Think Italy did not know Zidane's history of losing his cool and doing something stupid? You better believe they knew and they knew he could end the thing with one header or one kick (I mean the proper way to use your head in a game of soccer). Does not make it okay to say bad things, but it also does not give Zidane the right to do something stupid and foolish either. And look who looked foolish after it was all said and done... Mr. Zidane as Italy held the trophy up high and celebrated.
Add to that, we don't really know what was said, other than Mattarazzi confirming that it was an insult.
Professional soccer really came out looking bad from this WC; constant diving, whiny coaches, poor enforcement of the rules and topped off with one of the stars of the game completely losing his cool due to some on-field trash talking.
Right after this happened, I told friends of mine that Zidane would either apologize or play the race card. So far, though, he's said nothing.