Re: Baseball Rules/Stats Question
A fly ball only counts as a sacrifice if a runner scores on the play, not sure why but I think it has something to do with a sacrifice fly scoring a run is a positive event (hence getting credited with the RBI) but is not necessarily an intentional sacrifice. Where as sacrifice bunting the runners over is intentionally done and I believe that is why a fly ball that moves the runners over is not counted as a sacrifice.
Sorry if that isn't clear, I tried to make an attempt to explain it.
I also do not believe reaching on an error raises one's obp because without the error the player would not have reached base, I think OBP is scored similarly to BA when it comes to errors.