Originally Posted by TheNext44
Before answering, I would like a rule clarification. The Nats most likely will have the #1 pick again next year. If they don't sign him this year, can they just take him with the #1 next year? I know that they can't take him with the #2 that they will get for not signing him, if they don't sign him, but what about the #1 that they are almost certain to get next year?
If they can do that, that would give them exceptional leverage.
Thanks in advance.
A team can't draft a player a second time without his permission, so not likely.