Originally Posted by Sea Ray
George Grande and Chris Welsh discussed the HBP/K on Andre Ethier during the game yesterday (Sunday) and I still don't think they get it. They kept referring to whether the pitch hit the dirt and whether the ump or Corky knew that it hit Ethier.
Well first of all, it doesn't matter if it hit the dirt first or not. If it hits the batter it's a dead ball. Everyone involved had to know it hit Ethier from the way it bounced. If it did not hit the batter it would have gone back to the screen. Insttead it bounced at a crazy angle towards the Dodger dugout.
For the life of me I don't see how the umps missed this easy call and why the Reds didn't argue it.
From what I understand the ump ruled the pitch never hit the batter but bounced of the catchers foot instead.