Originally Posted by Caveat Emperor
The difference is in the continuation. Once the receiver controls the ball and breaks the plane, play over, conversion successful. Stop the tape, nothing else that happens from that nano-second onward is relevant to the play.
Your problem is that you want to keep watching -- "See," you say, "the ball came free at the end there. No catch!" Once the ball breaks the plane, play over. It isn't that way on the 50 yard line or anywhere else on the field. On the goal line, the play is over before Moore loses the ball.
The issue here is did he ever establish possession of the ball. Once that is established your point is valid. The review was not over whether he broke the plane of the end zone; it was whether he had possession.
Given your example above, you treat the goal line like the sideline. You can lose possession as you hit the ground out of bounds and it can be ruled incomplete even though you had it for an instant with both feet in bounds. They changed this recently where you have to maintain possession all the way to the ground.
Once again my point is this, to which no one has given evidence to the contrary: The rules are not different in the end zone.
I'm glad a bunch of you are not officiating games...