Re: Superbowl XLIV: Indianapolis Colts vs. New Orleans Saints @ Sun Life Stadium
Originally Posted by Caveat Emperor
You're missing the point entirely. He has the ball, with two feet down, and breaks the plane.
That he loses the ball a second later is irrelevant because the play is over the nanosecond that the ball breaks the plane of the goal-line while he has possession of it. The issue isn't whether possession rules are different for the end zone, the issue is when the play ends. That's a very different set of circumstances for the end zone than it is anywhere else on the field.
This. It's a pretty simple rule. He had the ball, stretching it out was the second act that established his possession. It crossed the goal line, play over.
I hope it's never sunny in Philly again.