Originally Posted by Roy Tucker
I think fumbles and pass catches in the end zone are different animals.
If a running back takes a handoff, sails over the goal line (with control of the ball) and then hits the ground in the end zone and fumbles, its a TD.
If someone catches a ball in the air, sails over the goal line (with control of the ball) and then hits the ground and fumbles, its no catch. He has to demonstrate control of the ball after he hit the ground.
With this play, he made the catch, crossed the plane, hit the ground, and then the DB knocked the ball out. With the 80 bazillion fps video cameras they have, it appears to happen very slowly. But I think he demonstrated control for about 3 milliseconds. I wouldn't have overturned it. But then, my phone didn't ring with the ref asking me what I thought.
it's not so much that he had control, he did bobble it, but due to that rather obscure second act rule, the fact that he was able to take the ball and extend it over the goal line established his possession of the ball.