Re: Superbowl XLIV: Indianapolis Colts vs. New Orleans Saints @ Sun Life Stadium
I think sometimes the Occam's Razor thing has to apply. The rule is intended to make sure the receiver holds onto the ball when he hits the ground. In this case, he clearly did. The ball was knocked out subsequent to going to the ground, not simultaneously with it. It was a bang-bang play to be sure, and I'm sure examples can be found where similar plays were ruled no catch. The NFL has been very inconsistent at times. But again, I believe the rule is intended to cover the initial act of hitting the ground, not the entire period between hitting the ground and either getting up or getting hit.
But then, we're talking about the guys who came up with the tuck rule...
Not all who wander are lost