Re: Tuesday June 22nd minor league updates
If the pitcher threw to first and the runner started for second, it would be considered a stolen base attempt, even if the runner then tried to go back to first and got tagged out by the first baseman. If the pitcher threw to first and the runner broke for second and beat the first baseman's throw to second, it would be a stolen base. Where it gets tricky is if the runner breaks on first movement against a lefty and the pitcher throws the ball to first and throws it away, the runner still gets the stolen base because you can't presume that the first baseman would have taken the throw and then made an accurrate throw to second to get the runner. This is one of the most commonly mis-understood rules by first-year official scorers.
Pick-offs are not official stats even though they are listed on the box scores. You can have a pick-off and a caught stealing on the same play and commonly do.