Re: The Reds will get the big 3 Labor Day weekend
Originally Posted by medford
Situation 2: A pitcher gets hurt by a thrown pitch and has to come out of the game for a pinch runner. The next batter is quickly retired for the final out, before the guy in the bullpen can get up and warmed up enough for his typical 8 pitches b/w innings. Would the next pitcher get as many pitches as he needs to warm up, or would he only get 8? I assume the easy way around this, is to get someone up quickly and even if the prior inning ends quickly, the pinch runner goes to the mound while the reliever continues to warm up, then the manager makes a switch at the start of the next frame so he can be sure he's warmed up.
According to NFHS rules, the relief pitcher would get as many pitches as needed regardless of how or when the original pitcher was hurt. The spirit of the rule in regards to unlimited warmups pitches is so the replacement pitcher is not hurt warming up with so few pitches being allowed. How the pitcher was hurt would not factor in how many warmup pitches the reliever would get. I would assume MLB has the same rule.
It is a good question BTW...made me think.
"Boys, I'm one of those umpires that misses 'em every once in a while so if it's close, you'd better hit it." Cal Hubbard