Originally Posted by George Anderson
According to NFHS rules, the relief pitcher would get as many pitches as needed regardless of how or when the original pitcher was hurt. The spirit of the rule in regards to unlimited warmups pitches is so the replacement pitcher is not hurt warming up with so few pitches being allowed. How the pitcher was hurt would not factor in how many warmup pitches the reliever would get. I would assume MLB has the same rule.
It is a good question BTW...made me think.
Thanks, makes sense as its in the spirit of the rule, but you tony Tony Baseball would make it a point to argue the rule if given the opportunity.